NoJoMo 3

Well day three and still going strong and managing an entry a day. I haven’t done this for years literally!

Well today is a very exciting day – we are having our aircon installed finally. We bought it nearly 12 months ago when it was going crazy cheap. Once we were in the house I started contacting electricians to install it. I had tradies promise to come out and give quotes, I took time off work to wait for them to come have a look and give me quotes, I had hours of frustration when tradies never turned up to give me quotes. Seriously we had planned on having the damn things installed over a month ago!

Finally I found a guy who actually came out when he said he would and gave a reasonable quote for the job as well. He emailed me and said he would be out Wednesday to install and that was the last we heard from him. I was a bit worried he wasn’t going to show and this time made Sal take time off from work to wait for him as Sal gets paid for annual leave, at the moment I don’t.

Anyway Sal decided seeing he didn’t have to go to work this morning he was going to sleep in so I very quietly got ready for work only to get a rude shock at 7am when the door bell went off. I went to the front door and there was my electrician! Of course then I had to wake Sal up (so much for his sleep in LOL) and when I left the house this morning they had already started on the first of two units.

Today is meant to be 34deg (93f) so we may even get the opportunity to give the new aircons a whirl this afternoon. Even better they are reverse cycle so they will heat the house in winter. It has been a long time since I have lived in a house with heating and cooling so needless to say I am pretty excited by the whole prospect and for once not dreading the oncoming of summer!

In other news, last night I got the front yard finally finished. The only down side is we still have a rather large amount of mulch left over. We are going to add some extra to the garden beds and put some in bags for use later on in some big half wine barrel’s we have inherited from Nan and pops place. One of the wine barrel’s will hold a mini peach tree that I will transplant once it has finished fruiting and the other is going to be my herb garden where I will plant some sage, thyme, parsley, oregano etc for cooking. Would also like to put a couple of chilli plants in it as I have developed quite a tolerance for chilli and would like to experiment cooking with it.

We went down to Bunnings (large chain of hardware stores) last night. They are one of the few civilised stores in WA that are open till 9pm every night! We bought a soaker hose for our new back lawn and some grass killer as we have a bit of grass coming through under the mulch. I thought I had pulled it all out but apparently not as we now have some rather lush grass growing in places we don’t want it to grow. Why is it that I can grow grass between paving bricks and in garden beds but not on the lawn where I want it to be? That has always bugged the crap out of me!

Anyway have been at work for an hour now and not done one work related thing, so I had better get to it.

Until tomorrow 🙂

Just another little piece of me…..

 

Log in to write a note

how cool, I didn’t realise you were a WA girl too. Yay for air con … I don’t think I’d survive without it. My hubby is a Bunnings addict, I love the courtesy seats in there, I swear they are for wives!! LOL

November 4, 2009

Trying very hard to keep up with all my faves doing NoJoMo, so pardon me if I seem slow! ~hugs~

Grass has a way of growing where you don’t want it. lol