And so the story goes………

 

 

 

 

 

 pregnancy

I really should remove these tickers now as my baby girl is already here.  I will get to that later.  For now they will stay, simply because Im just too lazy to do anything about them at the moment.

It’s nearly 2 on Monday, waiting for the pedi office to open after lunch so that I may make an appointment with them for Brooke.  I cant believe that shes a week old already.  Time sure does fly.

i’ve seen birth stories on here time and time again that seem to detail every single moment and run on forever.  Me, being the detail oriented person that I am, you would expect the same sort of thing.  But I dont have that to give.  It all really seems like a blurr at this point.  Then again I was pretty drugged for the whole event.  So, you will have to bare with me while I try to sort out the details.

I woke up around 4:30 that morning, took a shower and tried to prepare for the days events.  I didnt sleep much that night, it was a long night and a story I wish to forget.  Either way, I got out of the shower around a quarter to 5, we had to be at the hospital at 6:00 and its a 45 minute drive so I knew I had to wake Stephen up between 5 and 5:15.  I got dressed, snapped a few pictures of my huge self and then went to her room.  I sat in the rocker for a bit, wondering what comes next, what she would look like, how the day would unfold……..and I made her a quick video greeting.  By then it was 20 after 5 and Stephen was still sleeping, so I woke him up and told him it was time to go have a baby.

We left the house around 20 to 6, already going to be late for the birth of our daughter.  LOL.  We arrived at the hospital around 6:30, they had me change into my gown and started getting things ready to go.  Cleaned me up, started the IV, gave me that HORRIBLE drink to help with the stomach acid etc.  Stephen changed into his scrubs and at 7:35 I walked into the FREEZING cold OR.

I climbed up on the bed and they told me to lean forward, as they wrapped a warm blanket around me.  I heard the nurses start counting equipment as I leaned as far over as my big self could.  I felt them start preparing my back and the nerves set in.  This was one of the parts I was most afraid of, the epi and the incision.  Soon I felt little pricks all over my back and I started to grunt and groan, I was told that it was just them numbing my back for the epi.  Then came the epi, which didnt bother me at all, I felt a sensation in my hips, something in the nerves but thats it, soon my body started to tingle from the toes up.  They quickly laid me back and by the time I was a quarter of the way down I was numb.  I couldnt move.  I didnt even feel like I was there, it was the strangest feeling in the world.  Soon I felt them moving my limp body around, getting me cleaned up and into position as the curtain was raised, oxygen inserted into my nose and more blankets wrapped around me.  I was shivering, I think it was nerves or the meds, not the temp of the room. 

Before I knew it the room was filling up, I could see the doc positioning the lights above me and then I heard my doctor say "Go get dad", soon Stephen was there and the fun began.  I was really zoned out from the meds, REALLY zoned out, but I could hear something as I felt something move across my body.  I knew at that point it was the doc doing the incision, I will NEVER be able to explain that sound to anyone, its unexplainable, but I know what I heard was them opening me up.  After a few minutes I heard "The heads out" "Lots of pressure"  I felt them pushing on my stomach but hardly at all, honestly I felt pretty much nothing the whole time.  Then I heard her cry.

it was 8:02 am, I had only been in the OR for 27 minutes and she was already here, Stephen stood up to take a picture then she was quickly shown to me over the drape, just for an instant.  My eyes didnt even get the chance to focus on her.  Soon they called Stephen over to see her, but he returned to my side after a short while.  Turns out she wasnt "pinking up", they had to tube her and bag her because she wasnt breathing like she was supposed to and her color was still "dusky".  They called Stephen again and again he came back, this time carrying her, I couldnt lift my head really to see her, I just saw squinted eyes and they were gone.  A short time later I hear the nurse on the phone asking how big the baby was, 8 lbs 1 oz, "thats a nice chunk of baby" my doc said.

Around 9 I finally made it to recovery, I still felt strange and asked when I could have visitors and where my husband was.  I laid there for an hour, not knowing anything, I asked the nurse what had happened with the baby, I dont remember what I thought they said in the OR, but the doctor had come to me before they left the OR and told me what was going on……I was too out of it to understand.  So the nurse explained that she wasnt "pinking up" and that made MUCH more sense to me than what the meds had lead me to believe the doc had said.  Finally after 10 Stephen comes in and I get my first news on the baby.  Slight heart murmur, difficulty breathing, fluid on the lungs.  Then he was gone again to tell the family what was going on and I soon made my way to my actual room from my recovery room.

I wasnt worried about her, I knew she would be fine, I felt very much at peace with it all.  I was very calm.  I was just upset that I hadnt been able to see her or hold her yet.  I had NO idea what she looked like at this point.  I asked Stephen when he came in and he said she looked like him, but that was all I knew.

The rest is pretty much a blurr, I know that sometime around 6:30 I got up in a wheel chair to go see her, but I couldnt see her still, all I saw were feet, I didnt feel up to standing up beside her in the warmer to actually see her face and she was too high and I was too far away in my wheel chair to see her.  So, back to the room I went.  We went back at 8 and this time I actually got to see her.  Or at least I think thats what happened, I dunno, like I said its all a blurr.  I just know that it took me all day to finally get to see my baby.

And thats it, her birth story.  The rest of the week she was in Special Care, but honestly it wasnt anything major.  The fluid on th

e lungs is common in C-Section births, and she wasnt on the oxygen for very long.  The thing that was really holding us up, after we got the IV turned off was the jaundice, again, a common thing.  But, that went down enough that they allowed her to be discharged on Saturday.  My doctor was ready to discharge me on Friday but he allowed me to stay until Saturday because she was still there, which was a great thing.

The sad part is we didnt get any pictures of her from the hospital or foot prints of her, that and the hospital was not very daddy friendly at all.  Poor Stephen.

Anyways, thanks for all the compliments and well wishes, I really appreciate it.  I guess I had a more detailed story of her birth than I thought.  Its time for me to go call the doc and she is starting to wake which means its time to eat.

BTW, she is such a good baby so far, not fussy at all and all she does is sleep.  She’s amazing and she melts my heart.  I still cant believe she is here and shes mine.

 

pregnancy

Log in to write a note
June 23, 2008

Awwww. How strange to be so drugged up, poor thing. =/ At least she’s here now! <3333

June 23, 2008

That must’ve been scary and exciting all at once! I’m glad Baby Brooke Lynn is doing much better now. I want pics ma’am! 😀

June 23, 2008

ryn: i loved danny and jonathan! lol well can you get a friend to go with you to the concert? I am glad that your daughter is healthy and doing well!

June 23, 2008

Awwww how gorgeous! That last part melted my heart too and I don’t even know you guys personally!