I’m Back…..

….from NY.

First of all, I want to thank all the noters.  I’m not going to be able to go back and respond to each one individually.  But your notes were appreciated.  As far as faves go….I’ll catch up as much as possible as quick as possible.

So, Stephen’s grandmother ended up passing away.  Stephen got home Sunday morning and went to sleep.  I stayed up watching TV, then started cleaning the room.  Around 1:30, his phone rang, the call we had been dreading.  Within an hour we were on the road.  His aunts wanted him to fly up…..he wanted to drive. I wanted to go with him and I knew that if he flew I couldnt….but if thats how it had to happen then thats how it was going to be.  Luckily we drove.  Stayed the night in Alabama.  Got to his moms around 1 Tuesday morning.  Tuesday and Wednesday were the wake and Thursday was the service.  It was nice.  I did all I could do……hold his hand.

When we first got there Tuesday morning, his aunts best friend came up to us and mentioned how excited his Grandma was about the wedding.  My eyes got teary but I calmed myself down. The last thing I needed to do was start crying, had to keep my composure for Stephens sake.  Was hard though…..even though I only met her a few times…..it was still sad.  Sad to see everyone else dealing with their loss.  I cried a little again at the actual service, but I did pretty well.

We placed flowers on his other grandparents graves.  His grandma was the only grandparent he ever knew.  Im so lucky to have had all mine.  Granted my grandfather died when I was a month old…….but I at least got to meet him.  I was also fortunate enough to have both of my great grandparents on my moms side for quite a few years as well.

Enough of the sadness.  The trip was good.  Much needed vacation.  We got back around midnight Monday night/Tuesday morning.  Spent pretty much a total of 4 days on the road.  Good news is, we were still all smiles at the end of it……we werent ready to kill each other.  Although, he was ready for me to shut the hell up.  Sometimes, I just talk too much.  LOL.  We didnt make any stops on the way up there, other than to sleep in Alabama. Virginia takes FOREVER to drive through, but it was  a gorgeous drive all the way up and back.  Beautiful weather, beautiful things to look at.  Very nice drive.  On the way home we breezed through DC.  Didnt do any touring….snapped a few pictures as we drove by places, thats about it.  Then we stopped in Lake Charles to do a bit of gambling.  We took in about $200 and came out with about half of that.  Not too bad.  I skipped work yesterday to spend one more day with him.  I just cant get enough of him.  He makes me so happy.  I LOVE being around him.  I love him so much.  I LOVE that our relationship doesnt feel old, that it still feels so brand new, that we still act like its brand new, I pray that it stays that way forever.  All my previous relationships got old quick, we annoyed the hell outta each other and didnt have much fun together, mostly just stayed angry with each other.  I love that we can still stand to be around each other and cant wait until the minute we get to see each other next.  I love this relationship.  I love him.  He drives me wild!

I wish we could have stayed longer.  I wish we wouldnt have had to be there for that reason.  I wish he would have gotten to hang out with his family and friends more.  I wish I wouldnt have been a selfish butthead on Saturday.  Shame on me, really, that was uncalled for.  We go to NY for him, not for me.  How could I act that way??  I was upset, it was my birthday, I wanted to do a little something.  I hadnt really seen any of NY up close and personal, and I wanted to.  So, I turned into a total bitch.  Im lucky Stephen loves me, he puts up with alot of shit.

Took my wedding stuff with me to show his mom.  She liked the stuff.  She says she wants to pay for half of my dress.  I will feel guilty if she does…..but that would be a GREAT help.  Whoo hoo.  Now, if I could just loose the extra weight and fit into a dress, things would be EXTRA great.  She got me a sewing machine for my birthday.  I REALLY wanted one.  I havent got to use it yet.  Was planning on using it last night, but, I didnt get a chance to.

I guess thats about all there is to report.  Nothing new and exciting.  Im back at work, I sure in the hell didnt miss this place.

How was your week???

Log in to write a note
October 11, 2006

Sounds like it was a good break all things considered.

I’m so sorry to hear that his g-ma passed away, but I’m glad to hear that the trip was nice. I wouldn’t worry about feeling guilty about his mom paying for half the dress…it’s just her way of helping you out. I say take the money and run 🙂 *HUGS*