Self Diagnosing

pregnancy

Something I love to do.  I use the internet to research different things and try to figure out whats going on with me.  Thats how I figured out I have BV.  Not only does it help to give me an idea of what to tell docs but it helps me to understand what the docs are telling me at the time.

So anyways, I found the official name of my ailment, well its officially pregnancy, but it has little "side effects" if you will.

Pelvic Girdle Pain

Yep, thats what I have!!

Symptoms: If I have them, and know for sure I have them, they are in underlined..

  • PGP can begin in the early weeks (wk 14-22).
  • Pain is usually felt low down over the Symphysis Pubis joint, which may be extremely tender to the touch.
  • Present swelling and/or inflammation over joint.
  • Difficulty lifting leg.
  • Pain pulling legs apart.
  • Unable to stand on one leg.
  • Unable to transfer weight through pelvis and legs.
  • Pain in hips and/or restriction of hip movement.
  • Transferred nerve pain down leg.
  • Can be associated with bladder and/or bowel dysfunction.
  • A feeling of symphysis pubis giving way.
  • Stand with a stooped over back.
  • Malalignment of pelvic and/or back joints.
  • Struggle to sit or stand.
  • Pain may also radiate down the inner thighs.
  • You may waddle or shuffle.
  • Aware of an audible ‘clicking’ sound coming form the pelvis.

The symptoms of PGP limit the ability for the woman to carry out most daily activities. She will experience pain involving movements such as dressing, getting in and out of the bath, rolling in bed, climbing the stairs and sexual activity. Pain will also be present when lifting, carrying, pushing or pulling.

I am experiencing over half of that crap.  Heres something else.

"PGP in pregnancy seriously interferes with participation in society and activities of daily living such as housekeeping, walking, sexual life and working; the average sick leave due to posterior pelvic pain during pregnancy is 7 to 12 weeks.

In some cases women with PGP may also experience emotional problems such as anxiety over the cause of pain, resentment, anger, lack of self-esteem, frustration and depression; she is three times more likely to suffer postpartum depressive symptoms. Other psychosocial risk factors associated with woman experiencing PGP include higher level of stress, low job satisfaction and poorer relationship with spouse."

I try to tell Stephen Im in pain but I just dunno that he gets it.  Plus I feel like Im old when Im trying so hard to pull myself up out of the chair or something,  it takes me forever and a day.  Crawling outta bed, or even rolling over in bed take me forever to do too.  I have to do it one step at a time because its painful.  I waddle everywhere and feel like a damn duck.  I thought maybe it was just in my head, but honestly, its not.  Its very real pain and I cant help that Im waddling and my fat ass cant get up off the damn couch.  Maybe its a little worse since little Miss Brooke tends to spend most of her time VERY low.  Everything is growing, relaxing, expanding because shes down there forcing it.

That last part about being 3 times more likely to suffer PPD really scares me.  Ive been worried about that off and on since I found out I was pregnant.  I dont wanna end up like one of those psycho moms, but Im afraid Im VERY likely to go there.  Its truly a scary thought.  I have enough mental issues as is, I dont need that adding to it.  Im not saying Im gonna go off and mangle my baby and let her die, I REALLY dont see myself as EVER being that kind of person, no matter how fked up I get in the head.  But I am concerned that it will take its toll on my parenting skills with her.  Maybe I wont take as good of care of her as I can…..maybe I will "forget" to feed her or something because Im flipping out about something.  I dunno, PPD scares me and I do have a history of depression and possible bi-polar so it seems like its more of a chance for me to have PPD.  My screwed up brain function could potentially screw up my child for life. I dunno, maybe Im freaking out over nothing.  I just know that I HATE being depressed, it was never fun for me and I really dont want to go through that after giving birth when I could be enjoying my new life.

Blah, Im just rambling, having random thoughts today.

My ass hurts from sitting in this damn chair so damn long every day.  I HATE IT!!

The puppies eyes and ears are opening.  Its exciting.  They have gotten so big.  I should take new pictures.  Maybe I will this weekend.  They turned 2 weeks old yesterday.

In about 15 days I will be in New York!!  I told Stephen we are NOT going through Virginia until they catch that stupid crazy person who is shooting up random cars out there.  People in this world are just so damn crazy.  I love reading the news because I get a kick out of how crazy people can be.  I ju

st dont understand it.

Ok, so anyways, back to the pregnancy, things that are happening now……Im hot, all the damn time….poor Stephen is over there freezing and Im dying from the heat.

My mouth is always dry, Im always thirsty.

The sickness has kind of gone away but I still gag from time to time.

Lots heartburn

PGP as discussed earlier.

Itchy skin everywhere.

Ugly stretchmarks everywhere.

Always peeing.

Brooke likes to move around about every 2 hours or so, shes got her own routine going.

Back pain.

Headaches.

Getting so much bigger.

Swollen feet.

Pressure pain in my girly area.

My tummy feels soooo heavy.

Pregnancy brain, I cant seem to remember anything.

Im sure I could sit here and make this list so much longer……but oh the joys of pregnancy, gotta love em!!  It will all pay off in the end, I know it.

Well, this little waddling duck is gonna get back to work.  Im sleepy and wanna be back in my big ol bed!!!

pregnancy

Visit <a href=’http://answers.yahoo.com’ _fcksavedurl=’http://answers.yahoo.com’>Yahoo! Answers</a> to find the answer to millions of different questions.

Log in to write a note
March 27, 2008

We are pretty much the same weeks in pregnancy, and i know what you mean about the joint pain. I get that mostly in the evenings, but notice that i feel it the worst when i do any chores or walk too much. I feel like i just got off a horse sometimes…lol

March 29, 2008

*hugs* I wish things could be a bit better. Being in pain and being able to do the things you like must be torture but you’re right…it should be all worth it in the end! TRY to hang in there, at least for a few more months.

March 29, 2008

I loved and hated being pregnant… only advice I can give – is what was given to me .. and I can’t remember it because I never listened to anyone.. question tho – does the symptoms go away after the birth, and what kind of delivery will be able to be done or have to be done with this condition? You are in my thoughts..

March 31, 2008

I hear you on all the pregnancy “perks” lol!