scrapbookers & crafters, need advice!

even if you DON’T scrapbook yourself, give me your opinion based on what you’d prefer to see.
organizational buffs may have an opinion here, too.

i might have asked opinions on this before? forgive me…i can’t remember. anyway!

i’m gearing up to tackle luke’s first album, and there are almost 21 months of material! nearly 10 months of pregnancy, and nearly 11 months of his life! i have, 6 pages done. and they bring me up through about 4 months of pregnancy. which i guess isn’t so bad for progress…it was pretty easy to do since i’m really just doing belly & sonogram pictures on those pages. it’s easy to fit a month on a page or two, ya know? anyway, here comes my point…

when i get into the meat of LUKE’s pictures, how should i organize it? here are my two main questions…

1) every month i take a picture of luke holding a sign that says how old he is. i also write him a letter telling his future self what he’s up to, what milestones he’s reached, what his favorite things are, etc. i obviously want all of this included. should i….

a) have one page for his letter & picture at the start of each month, sort of like a "divider" almost that precedes everything that
happened when he was that age

OR

b) have a special section of his album dedicated JUST to consecutive pages of his letters & month picture so you can more easily
see the progression, but would be separate from the rest of the album

2) should i scrapbook all of 2009’s holidays in HIS album, or a separate family album? while they are big & important to his first year, i can’t decide if i want them just included in his album (because i plan to do it chronologically) as they come up while he ages, or if they should go in our family album and just sort of be "starring" luke.

so, what do you think?

Log in to write a note

I think I like the idea of the letters & photo being a divider, almost like chapters of his life. And for the holiday thing, I think that you should definitely do a big holiday page of mostly pictures of luke for his album, and do a general holiday page for the family album. I have become addicted to scrapbooking for my daughter too, and there are just so many different options!!

For Jessa’s we do family events in our family album and in hers. We put all of the pictures in our family album and just a couple of pictures in hers. Mainly of her and one of us all together. That way when we have moer kids we will still have the one big family album and the kids will have their own that they can have when they are older.

This is what I would do. For question #1, I would put the monthly photos in a separate album. This way, every year on his birthday you can pull it out and reminisce without going through the bigger album to find those photos, and like you said, see the progression! For question #2, I’d put the holidays in your family album for sure. I ran into this issue too when scrapbooking high school & college

because for high school, I included all the family holidays but for college, I wanted the family things separate. Good luck! Are you on TwoPeas?