So Anyways….

Hi friends!

I guess I haven’t gotten any better at posting entries since the return of OD.

If I’m being honest, some of the excitement has worn off.  So far, I’ve only reconnected with two people here. Everyone else I am friends with on Facebook. And I have not taken the time to really find my way around the new OD. I do have a journal at Prosebox and even though I didn’t write much there either, I did go there to read fairly regularly. I definitely feel some loyalty there. The guy who created it has done a good job and I’m appreciative of the fact that’s it’s free and he seems very accessible. SIDE NOTE: Am I the only one who finds it ironic that Prosebox has been down for several days right when OD comes back?  I think it’s the first time this has happened for more that a few hours.

Now everyone is talking about cross posting or staying with only Prosebox. I really don’t want to go to two sites to read diaries.  These are my initial thoughts. I haven’t really decided yet but I well definitely pay for a month and see how it goes.

How to catch up 4 years? My life has had a few big changes but most everything has stayed the same.

The biggest change is where I live. I’ve always been a city girl who has now turned into a country girl.  Most of you know my daughter, her boyfriend, 3 kids and me have lived together.  The city I’m from is just outside of D.C..  It’s an impossibly expense place to live.  It took all 3 of our incomes (boyfriend only works part time and takes care of the kids) to make it work.  Unfortunately, last January Aimee unexpectedly lost her job.  She got a really raw deal but that’s another story.  We hung in there as long as we could but finally had to move. She and the kids are staying with his family and I moved two hours away to live with my niece and her daughter. My  niece Caren is only 6 years younger than me and we’ve always been very close. I do pay her rent but a 1/4 of what I was paying! She is very happy to have me here and has been very good to me. But oh how I miss my babies! It broke my heart to leave them.  I see them once or twice a month but it’s not the same. They are 5, 6 and 11 and I’ve lived with them everyday of their lives.

Aimee finally got a pretty good job although not as good as the one she had.  She is hoping to get another place around June or July.  I am so torn.  I really love it here more than I ever believed I would.  I just get sick thinking about going back to all the traffic and the high cost of living. I’m hoping and praying I can talk her into moving here. I just pray I make the right decision.  I honestly don’t know how she will make it without me financially but we’ve got months to figure it out.

Still no love interest in my life and I’m still 99% okay with that.  But who knows what the future will bring  – maybe I’ll snag me a good old country boy lol.

I’ve made a lot of good changes health wise.  My Dr is very pleased. Blood pressure, cholesterol and A1c (sugar) are all excellent.  Lost some weight but still have a long ways to go.

I guess that’s enough for now.  A very happy Valentine’s day to all of you. I treated myself to a $1 box of candy lol.

P.S. Where do I go to pay for my subscription?

Log in to write a note
February 14, 2018

Tough call. I spent the better part of the day catching up with people here because I’d not been around all week. I can’t imagine trying to keep two journals up and running. I’m not going to try to sway you one way or the other… You have to decide what is best for you.

February 14, 2018

Well, I would say that catching up is not something you really have to do. Just go on from now forward. And I do believe that you can pay through your profile.

February 14, 2018

Hi! Thank you so much for writing. Really, with the New Open Diary, it’s not like going back to the way it used to be. There are many who have not come back. Truly, you have to plan on starting fresh and making new friends which you know takes time. Are you already established at Prosebox? It sounds like you are. I would have to say for me, Open Diary is my main diary for writing and noting but I still go to Prosebox to mostly read and note. I am not going to Prosebox as often as I used to though. So, you really have to do what works best for you ms. breathless. Yay for living a healthier lifestyle. That’s just wonderful! And living in the country as opposed to living in the city sounds like a good deal. You are saving so much money by doing so and because of this you are able to live a more comfortable lifestyle. I hope your daughter will seriously consider living in the country too. This would probably require a commute for her to get to work though, right? What to do? What to do? Like you said you have some time to decide what will be best so that’s a real blessing. In the meantime, Live Life! Big Hugs

February 19, 2018

You look great in your pics on FB! I guess those of us who connected IRL and stayed in touch via Facebook are fortunate in the catching up department. 🙂

Mj.
February 26, 2018

I’m not so pleased with the return of OD. I used to have so many friends here. People that I’ve been reading/noting and getting to know for 17 years now. Since OD has been back up..I’ve written two entries..and I’ve noted every entry that I’ve read from people that I was close with Before OD went down.

I wrote about how I’ve been wondering about them for years now. I’ve asked about their family and about what all has going on. Not one person has answered any of my notes or even bothered to say so much as “Hi” on my entries. So I guess I wasn’t missed very much here.

March 5, 2018

@mj_2 I think people a) don’t look at OD that often – I know I don’t – and b) sometimes it’s hard to navigate on OD, I didn’t know there were replies to my notes because there’s no notification and you have to go looking for them.

February 27, 2018

Well I am very glad to see you writing here. I hope all works out as I am sure it with time and come on girl get the country boy!

March 5, 2018

I’m glad to see you writing somewhere! I don’t do Facebook too much, as there is too much angst when you’re out there.

March 24, 2018

Hi! Long time no see! I am relearning my way around this place. Looking forward to reading you more. Glad you are well. I am contemplating a move that would take me away from grandbabies (I have 8 now) so this post really tugged on my heart strings.

March 25, 2018

I know we keep up with each other on Facebook, but it’s not the same as here.  I’m so glad it opened back up.  There’s a lot I can write about here that I don’t want all my friends on FB to have access to.  I know you miss your girls.  I’d hate to be away from mine:(

September 26, 2018

I just recently found od up and running again. I hope you come back soon!

October 26, 2019

Rest In Peace  Ann, you are missed.