Theme Week…What do I consider my greatest strength?

I am choosing to do a theme week and, ironically, the theme is most apt for the reason I am doing a theme week, instead of just writing.

What do I consider my greatest strength? My perseverance, despite all odds, to accomplish my goals, whatever they may be.

However, this is also my weakness. I am a people pleaser, for everyone but myself. I will do everything I can to help someone, and I can accomplish much when I am helping people, or to make them proud (yay family pressure!). But I always seem to give myself less than half of what I give others.

Attend: As a child, I had no greater aspiration than to be a writer. I LOVE to create. I love to dream and imagine fantastic new adventures. I am now 34 years old, my greatest aspiration, is still to be a writer. What do I do now, you might ask? Well, it is actually quite interesting.

I am an historian and an archeologist (yes, you can do both–also note that archeology is a subfield of anthropology, so technically I am an anthropologist as it consists of more than just archeology, but I digress…). More specifically, I work in public history.

Public history is the act of making history accessible and relatable to the public (vague, I know, there is more, but that is it at its most basic level).

Public history can go in many different directions, but the niches I fit best in are interpretation, research, policy, and historic preservation (this includes a lot too, I will not get into that now, maybe another time). I take research and develop a narrative and interface in which the regular public who are not historians can connect and better understand their history. Ironically, this involves WRITING. A lot. And it has to be interesting, otherwise people are not engaged in said history.

I have to be clear, I LOVE my job. I love history and archeology, and researching and learning, and interpreting that information for people. I totally geek out. Even more, I get to study architectural history (this is more for fun 🙂 ). And, in that sense, I am a writer, I write all the time for my job. I enjoy what I write, and it does involve some significant creativity.

Additionally, the skills I had to learn to become a historian and anthropologist are very helpful when it comes to writing fictional stories of my own. However, I do not make the time to sit down and actually, really, WRITE these stories. I have like six solid different stories swirling in my head at any one point, and they are FANTASTIC tales (I promise I am really quite humble, the stories tend to tell themselves), but I never give myself time to work on them.

This being said, I am working on it, everyday. I think about it everyday. I remind myself (yes everyday) that I have accomplished 99% of my other goals that I have set my mind to. This IS something I can do. I just have to make myself do it. Like I made myself go to grad school (torture–pure torture–but so INTERESTING…those profs are sneaky like that…).

So again, my greatest strength, apparently, is perseverance. Regardless of the fact that I have not yet finished a novel, I will continue to work towards it. I really have no excuses at this point…

And in case you are wondering, writing here is meant to help get me into the habit of writing everyday.

Cheers–

Log in to write a note
May 10, 2018

Get back on here and start writing again! You can do it!