What does she want?

So I am basically retired…at least I have the flexibility to do whatever I want with my time.   I chose to do a socially conscious venture.  An app company for helping nonprofits manage their volunteers.  I love it.  It’s challenging.  It’s for a good cause.   It keeps my mind busy and my head in the game.  But it has its demands.   There are times when I have to travel (4 times a year for 3-5 days each).   There are times when I have to work late (2-3 times a month).  But the hours are really flexible because I work when the work needs to get done but don’t when there isn’t anything critical.  That gives me the flexibility to do random stuff as needed for home.  And I can work out of the house often.

but my wife is frustrated with me.  Part of it is she doesn’t know what to do with herself.  Part of it is that she likes predictable routine.  I am the exact opposite.  I like the randomness of things popping up.  I don’t want to sit around all day and read or watch TV.  I like random people engaging and connecting on the various causes I am involved with.  She has no interest in them.

I just wonder if we can make it work.

she critiques her mom for being so dependent on her dad and yet she feels like she is trying to draw me into that.  I don’t want that

Log in to write a note
January 23, 2020

I am retired at 63, and I managed to volunteer with the local clinic to keep me busy, I have all kind of projects to do, but I usually run out of money before I can them done. The wife is feeling more dependent on you and doesn’t want to be like her mom, she just can’t see it.