I am NOT okay!

To be quite honest, I forget about this diary, mostly because I stay on Facebook. Needless to say, I always seem to come back to vent.

As the title states, I AM NOT OKAY! If you ask me, this is what I want to tell you. I want to tell you exactly how I feel, my guilt, my anger, my grief. I want to tell you how helpless I feel, how, looking back now, I feel even more helpless and nothing can change it now anyway.

I want to scream, I’m so tired of crying. I want to be pissed, I want to throw things. I just want to let it out.

But I don’t. For several reasons.

First – I don’t believe anyone REALLY wants to hear my honest answer. I understand that they are trying to be considerate, that many DO care, and ask because of it. But I don’t think they will be comfortable to hear it, I don’t think they’re prepared to hear it.

I have friends who have gone through this, and I don’t want to discuss with them because I don’t want to take away from their loss.

Second – I don’t want to upset my children more. They’re already grieving themselves. In their way. Aurora is so concerned with how I am that it worries me. She’s only 7. Joe is able to cry, and stays upset – he seems to be regressing somewhat in his behavior. I feel like he’s already unstable, and I need to be helping him deal with the emotions without adding to his stress. Same with Ireland. She has a hard time recognizing the emotion still. I don’t want to add to their confusion and upset.

Third – I don’t want to hurt my husband more. He’s been there for me since we found out, grieving in his own way. I know I can talk to him, but I don’t because he feels helpless to make it better for me. He doesn’t know what to say. I feel like he’s uncomfortable with my being upset because of this, and because he’s trying to deal with it differently.

I’M NOT OKAY!

David tells people I’m doing “okay, given the situation.” I’m not. I don’t want them to think I am. That implies that I am able to move on and be “normal” again. I can’t.

Already people talk to him and not me. They whisper to him to ask how I am. How we are. No one addresses me directly. I have a couple of friends who have, and some family, but everyone else avoids me.

I have pictures of our son that I will not be able to share with others so that I don’t offend or disturb them. He was early, he was tiny. I am afraid to share pictures from the funeral because of the same reason. THIS HURTS! I want to be able to share my child like everyone else, and I can’t!

When he was born, when we held him, he was the most beautiful baby in the world to me. When I look back on his pictures, I see why others will never think so.

It took us 5 years to conceive. We finally managed to get pregnant…on our own, a miracle. And halfway through, when everything should have been alright, that dream is shattered.

The only place I have to see my son is at the cemetery. I should still be pregnant. This shouldn’t be his first Easter already. Not until next year.

I don’t want to hear that we can have another child. We’d already been told by so many that we “didn’t need” any more children, so why would anyone think I’d believe them now? Do they understand how long it took to get pregnant?

Do they understand that losing him means I have now lost 10 children???

10. 8 of which I have never really spoken of until today. Having to face reality. That early miscarriages are still losses. That even though I lost two children BEFORE MY SON, in my teens, they were still my children and I still have the right to remember and grieve them. It’s taken me this long to accept that.

That is too many for anyone.

So when people look at me and see that I have 3 of my own, that I have a stepson…that any more means we’ll have 5 – they assume.

Assume that it’s been easy. Joke that we don’t know what causes it. Jokingly (or not) tell us that we don’t need anymore.

It’s not that simple. I suffer from PCOS, and along with that, infertility.
Regardless of how many living children I have, it doesn’t take away from the pain of not being able to become pregnant with my husband’s child, nor the pain of not being able to carry the ones I lost.

So no, I’m not okay. Each time I lose more of myself. This time, I lost a hole in my heart. Even if we manage to have another, our family is forever broken.

Log in to write a note
April 21, 2011

I am so sorry, Ajaye 🙁 My heart goes out to you and your family. I say share what you want and if people can’t deal with it, it’s on them. You need to share. You need to grieve. Do it. Don’t worry about being considerate of others in YOUR time of pain and suffering. If you need me, I’m here. *gentle hugs, love and prayers*

April 21, 2011

I am so sorry. This is a hard blow and a terrible loss…I agree w/ mom to three…Grieve how you need to grieve. I’m so sorry that this had happened to you…Having had a miscarriage myself (many years ago), My heart goes out to you guys. *HUGE HUGS*

April 21, 2011

I’ll be back to read this in its entirety … but I can relate to not being here much … not particular reason on my part, y’know, just livin’ life I suppose.

April 21, 2011

I think you should show the pictures … it’s not for you to worry about making those selfish others feel uncomfortable. This is loss that you will need time to … not sure how to word this exactly because everything sounds so trivial … understand? cope with? I dunno … Don’t worry about people take care of you!

April 21, 2011

I can’t imagine the hurt. (((((hugs)))))

April 21, 2011

I am so sorry, sweetie. So sorry. *big hugs*

April 21, 2011

I am so sorry hon!! Even though I had a loss myself I sitll have no idea what to say to othes that it has happend to. No words can make you feel better. All I can offer is my ear and to say let it all out, cry, vent, scream, get your feelings out. It’s part of the healing process. Don’t worry about what anyone else thinks.

Oh Ajaye…I’m sorry. *HUGS*

April 21, 2011

*big hugs. I’m so sorry for yalls loss.

My heart goes out to you, I cannot imagine. *HUG*

April 21, 2011

I’m so sorry. You never forget. I know that much.

April 21, 2011
April 21, 2011

i can’t pretend to know how you feel. I’m sorry for your losses.

April 22, 2011

It won’t always be broken, just different. When I lost my middle daughter it took a very long time to feel better. Even so, her loss never gets less painful, I just learn to cope. It’s hard even now, looking at my youngest daughter and knowing that had her sister lived she wouldn’t be here since I got pregnant with her before her sister’s due date. My son talks about “the baby that died” and Ithink it’s a good thing, that she’s part of the family even though she can’t be here with us physically. So just hang in there. People are going to say some terrible and insensitive things, mostly because they don’t know what to say. It’s going to hurt for a long time, it’s going to hurt forever – but you will heal and your family will heal, you’ll just be different. *big huge hugs*

April 22, 2011

I’m so sorry. I think people say stupid, hurtful things cuz they’re not sure what else to say. Its so unfair. No one should have to experience that many losses.

April 22, 2011

Oh honey, I have no words that will make you feel better, I have nothing to say that will ease your pain. What I will say, is that you should be able to say to others that you are NOT ok. You should be able to tell everyone, no, its not ok, no I am not ok. You should be able to show those amazingly beautiful pictures of your child, because they are of your child, and what you have to hold on

April 22, 2011

to for the rest of your life. Becuase you know what, that is all that you have, no matter what your child looks like to others, it is YOUR child, and your moment, and your memory. *hugs* I am sorry, I have no words to make it better, but I am here to listen, or to just be there, or to look at the amazing beautiful pictures. *hugs*

April 27, 2011

I wish I had something helpful to say. All I can think of is PLEASE talk to someone, preferably someone who’s been through loss. Talking to them doesn’t take away from their loss; most people are glad to help others and want the chance to talk about their experiences. I know you’re trying to spare others, but in the long run it will be much healthier for both you and them to talk about it.

April 27, 2011

As someone who’s been through loss (though not of a child)…you’re right, your family will forever be missing a piece. Life will never be the same. There is no getting over it, no “moving on”. All you can do is learn to live in a changed world. But it’s possible to survive. *offers hugs* I’ll light a candle for Ben and your family.