אני קושית יפה/I’m a Cute Black Girl Pg 37

As a child that celebrated…2 religions…

Shadow Party

Party Rocky

Party Confetti Regular

Cupcake Party Demo

NÉO PARTY

lawn party!

I grew up religiously confused… just imagine being a lil kid and you are told not to believe in the New Testament and Jesus…but you would celebrate this person you are not believe in. What kid wouldn’t love all that.

Anyway…so I held back on converting just to prevent all that, but it seems like may be repeating that eventually.

Last night my husband told me how he is very happy with me converting and he sees the me that he fell in love with all those years ago…Lemonade Party

 

He insists that his kids…which will obviously be my kids…must get Short Party

So yesterday I tried to figure out how it would work…so my son gets born and 7 days later he has a Festival but then a day later he gets Short Party My daughter will have a similar experience but she wouldn’t have to have any organs snipped.

Anyway so I decided that I would call up my Rabbi and ask her. But before I talk to her about this, I figured why not just see what I could find on google about this.

Just read an article by a Jewish Women married to a Christian. a few years ago they had there 2nd child. a BOY, and decided to have a

Baptism/Bris

Just a lil giggle from her post…

”We’ll invite our friends and family and someone will sprinkle a little water and then someone’ll do the snip.”  Victoria said, “What’s a bris?” I explained that a bris is a circumcision done buy a special rabbi called a Mohel.  The Mohel comes over with his special snipper and the family gathers around and I think it’s customary that the father hold the baby, so naturally, I would hold the baby and we’d give him a little wine, the baby, that is, to help numb the pain and then the Mohel does the snip. Victoria said, “AT HOME?  That’s freaky.” I said, “Baby, there’s nothing freakier to a Jew than a Baptism, except for maybe those statues of the man nailed to the cross that hang over everyone’s beds. 

In order to get an accurate answer on this I am going to have to ask my Rabbi. I kinda like the idea of having the 2 ceremonies together.

On Tuesday night at my Jewish Studies class, I asked the Student Rabbi who was teaching us about the Mikveh. She basically told me that some Rabbis do allow that, but Temple of Israel doesn’t.

I finished class thinking that maybe I would ask another Rabbi at Temple of Israel but right now I figure that I will let it go… guess this is a subject that I will look into further when the time comes.

I do feel though that I since I love my husband, I need to respect him and his beliefs, and so when the time comes I am going to have to make it happen. And hey my other sister is dating a Rabbi so maybe I could just ask him to perform the Baptism/Bris.

Log in to write a note