אני קושית יפה/I’m a Cute Black Girl pg 7

A lot of the things that are done in a Jewish home…well pretty much in every home and in our everyday lives is in some remembrance of the past.

Everyone knows…well at least have some kind of knowledge of how the Jews travelled in the desert for 40 years…During this time G-d provided the Israelites with an edible Substance called Manna….What Was the Manna? The manna (in Hebrew, מן, which is more accurately transliterated as mon) was the miraculous edible substance that fell each day from heaven during the 40-year period between the Exodus and the conquest of Israel, providing our ancestors with sustenance throughout their travels in the desert.

And so on Shababt we are meant to do the bracha with 2 callah? Why? To commemorate the fact that the Jews in the desert received a double portion of mannah every Friday in honor of Shabbat

Now it is just myself and my husband so having a big challah is a waste…yes he loves bread and I love challah, especially when it is warmed but we don’t need to consume so much bread. So for now I am going to purchase mini challah rolls and when I have Shabbat will say the bracha over 2 challot unless of course I need to cater for more people….

See the source image

I look forward to the day when I can validate purchasing many challot because I will be having a full Shabbat table.

Log in to write a note