אני קושית יפה/I’m a Cute Black Girl Pg 83

בּרוּךְ אַתָּה יְיָ אֱלהֵינוּ מֶלֶךְ הָעוֹלָם אֲשֶׁר קִדְשָׁנוּ בּמִצְוֹתָיו וְצִוָנוּ עַל הַטְבִילָה

Right now a group of us have formed a group to help build a Mikveh for our shul. Since the Orthodox Shul doesn’t recognize the Progressive Movement, our congregation has never been allowed to the Orthodox Mikveh, and so has used natural bodies of water or a open pool at one of the locations. Since my conversion a group of us have discussed the need of Mikveh for our shul and so a group has been formed.

Right now we are in the early stages and just gathering information and when have enough will go to the Congregations Body Corp to decide how we can go about it and how they can help.

I remember just before my graduation how I went to the Mikveh and what a wonderful experience it was. Before going I thought it would have been weird, being naked in a pool and even though it was a female rabbi and a volunteer, I did think I would feel icky being naked in front of them. But it was such a rejuvenating and symbolic moment and I only wish that it was something that I could do more often, and it would be more sacred than just going in a pool in one of the Shul Locations.

Mayyim Hayyim

Log in to write a note