A Mother’s Home

I know it is just the beginning and I don’t quite have everything I need…but when I think about it, I get a warmth in my chest and a smile breaks out on my face.

When I think of how my home and the home that I will create for my husband and any kids we will be blessed with, will be filled with the warmth and Jewish Heart that I grew up with…that My Mother created in the home that I grew up in and welcomed many friends and strangers to.

Last night while I was listening to the Rabbi as he told us how before Covid it was a norm to just invite strangers and people without a home to go to him, to join him and his frailly for Shabbat Supper. He spoke about he missed that and how last week he met a group of foreigners at Shul and they were just going to have Shabbat Dinner at some restaurant…of course he couldn’t have that, so he invited them to join them with his family.

When my mother died…life changed and home was no longer home like I knew it to be.

I want to create the home that my mother created for me.

I know she is watching down on me now and knows that what I am doing is the right thing. I am sure she is smiling down at me and although she may be thinkin “Finally!” , I am sure she is happy!

Today I bought Silver Polish, so I plan on cleaning my Mom’s Shabbat Candles.  See the source image

I am looking for a Challah Board and Cover. See the source image See the source image

And a Mezuzah! Image result for mezuzah

This feels so right and feels so good! There are so many more things that I am going to collect and need to complete my Jewish Home…My Mother’s Home. And I can’t wait!!

 

Log in to write a note
January 26, 2022

My sister had a Mezuzah. We aren’t Jewish, but her former fiancé was. They had a true blended Judeo-Christian home.

January 26, 2022

@caria why do you talk in the past tense? Sorry if I not in my place to ask.

I may need some advice from you/sister. My husband is Christian.  Often he touches on how our kids will be Christian, and sometimes he goes along with me when I say they will be brought up Jewish and when they feel ready to choose, they can go either way.

January 26, 2022

@ncumisa You can always ask. I used the past tense because she is no longer engaged to that person, and no longer has a Mezuzah. Her home is strictly Christian.

I’m happy to give any advice I can offer, so feel free to ask away. I can tell you that I know children are usually raised in the faith of the mother… it’s like an unwritten rule… understood. Unless you and he have discussed it and agreed otherwise, that is.

Is there a compromise that can be reached? Raise them in the knowledge of both faiths?

January 27, 2022

@caria – I was raised with both religions. It was rather confusing, until my parents asked me when I was about 11 what religion do I want to follow and I said Judaism.

I think I am going to write a post about this.