NoJoMo 11: What Started the Weight Loss Journey

On my previous entry, I got a comment congratulating me on the weight loss and mentioned how I seem super motivated. That really got me to thinking about what started this journey. I had tried to start working out, eating better, etc. before, but it never lasted long… AT ALL. So what was the difference this time? There are a few factors actually.

One big factor is the move back in with my family. By the way, today marks one year of me moving back home! YAY! The reason I moved back home is because I had a huge financial hit and really couldn’t afford to continue living on my own in St. Louis. That and my family was facing some things and it was time for me to come back to help them figure out things as well. So both things on their end and on mine worked together to bring me back home. Now being home, I don’t have to penny pinch living off of Ramen, pasta, frozen pizzas, etc. to make dollars stretch. I also don’t have the friends around me to treat me out to eat here. I miss the fellowship, but not the unhealthy habits that it produced. I am eating healthy by default just living with my family. Mom and I grocery shop together and plan healthy meal ideas together. That kicked off me eating better about a year ago. As I mentioned earlier, I started figuring out that gluten doesn’t quite sit well with me back in April. That has had a tremendous affect on my motivation to keep watch on what I eat. I got tired of feeling sick and not functioning well and wanted to continue feeling better.

The biggest eye opener to the need to change my habits was losing 4 relatives to health issues like heart issues, cancer, and diabetes within the last year and a half. I didn’t want to slowly drift into the same outcome over the remaining years of my life, especially when I was already feeling constantly sick and miserable. After all, I definitely wasn’t getting any younger.

The last nail in the coffin was when I FINALLY went to see a doctor back in August. I’ve avoided them like the plague since 2007 when I had to have surgery. That is a whole other entry and story in itself. My doctor kindly told me that for my size, I was morbidly obese. I honestly couldn’t say that she was wrong. Being 3’10, I probably should not have been 118 lbs. Honestly, that number was much lower than it was when I was living in St. Louis. Remember, I said my eating habits changed by default when I first moved back here, so that helped me shed about 5 or so pounds in itself. I looked up my suggested weight for my size. 55-65 lbs. WHAT? I’m THAT much overweight? Now… I don’t plan on getting all the way down to that size. I feel like I would look like a bobble head doll or a lollipop. Skinny body. Big head. LOL. My ultimate goal weight is 80 lbs though.

So there it is. Those are the factors that jump started my current weight loss journey. Wish me continued luck guys!

Log in to write a note
November 11, 2018

I can see all the factors that led you to your new healthy lifestyle! I lost 30lbs this year (all within the first 6mo) and have been stagnant since then right now I have put 5 back on, but I am trying to get back on the horse, especially before the holiday weight gets the best of me. I think I needed to see your last two entries for motivation, thank you for writing about your journey!

November 12, 2018

@cherrywine_1 Hey! That’s awesome! I’m trying to be like you losing 30 lbs. And I hear you about the “mad dash” before Thanksgiving. I’m doing that as well. Trying to be a little stricter and exercise a little more just for that reason. I’m also trying to mentally prepare for being sick for the holiday (gluten and sweets) LOL. I would love to hear about your journey and what you have been doing. Maybe we can exchange some tips and such!