a catch-22… bring sticks i’ll need ’em

okay, here’s how it goes in the land of da loof-man: catch-22’s abound.  i suppose i should call myself yossarian and be done with it.  on that note i will say this first: don’t use the phrase "catch-22" to the fat chick in financial aide.  she will look at you like you have a hole in your noggin and will do a not so subtle glance the round faced clock on the wall to her right in a way to not so subtly let you know that the finacial aide office closes at 1700 on time, damnit. 

that said, my diatribe, my friends:

today i contacted the bursar’s office (the office that is assigned to getting money from students– i.e. me)… wait stop… i must aside for a second… there is in fact no such thing as an office of the bursar, at least not here at my someday-alma mater.  nope.  tis all done through computers and "quick pay."  okay, aside done.  i emailed the bursar’s office and asked if they were going to apply my stafford student loan to my account.  they emaile me back… who they are i don’t know since as far as i can tell there is no they, at least they don’t have an office… telling me that the loan was on hold and to talk to financial aid.  another aside… i called the bursar’s office first and i got a recorded message telling me that the line was busy and i should email them.  (i’m sure there is someone with thick glasses and very greasy hair laughing at me… so, i hop into my car and go to school, by the by… i got every red light on the way down.  yes, loofah, God does have a sense of humor.  i got to campus and got a parking spot (no problem, really) and tramped over to the fincial office whereupon i came face to face with a fish-eyed woman who was perplexed by the phrase "catch-22."  she listened to my plight, nicely.  she let me know that i had to have 4 credit hours, or be at least half-time to qualify for a stafford loan.  i only have 3 hours.  so, in a nice way: no dinero for da loof-man.  so what happens now?  i pay for it out of my own pocket.  as far as i can tell its about 787 dollars or there abouts.  remember that last post about havin 300 bucks extra a month?  for the next couple months that goes to my parents as they floated me a loan. 

sharpen your sticks.  i think i’ll go for blood.

yours in the struggle.

 

Log in to write a note
May 23, 2005

That always seems to happen here, too. As soon as we think we have a lil extra money, it is needed somewhere. =(

May 24, 2005

RYN – Hahahahaha. Its a 2005 Nissan Altima with upgrades. You think for $465.00 a month, I’d be driving a Benz Cadillac huh? Actually, it would have been $445.00 a month, but Im paying $20.00 a month extra for the Gap insurance. If my car is totalled (sp?), the Gap insurance will pick up what my regular insurance wont. =)

May 24, 2005

Ooops, I meant to put an “or” between the Benz and Cadillac in my previous note. Im so anal, I had to leave you another note correcting myself. hahahahahahahah =)

May 24, 2005

Man…that sucks~!~ “catch 22” was a bit over her head ‘eh 🙂

May 24, 2005

i could bite them for you. i have sharp teeth *^_^* ryn: imagine what 40 pages of nonsence like that does to you? . i’ll bite anything you say!!! *smiles*