01/25/2013

Thanks so much for all the congratulations and kind words. The night I posted that was actually the night P and I found out. I wanted to remember the day. As if I would forget. We told our immediate family that same day. But we haven’t told anyone else. I’ll probably start telling my really close friends over the next week or so. Ideally we’ll tell our good friends Carlos and Becky first this weekend. We are very close with them and we started trying the same month. She is due just three weeks before me. That really could not have worked out better.

I’ll be five weeks tomorrow, and feel great physically. It’s really still way too early for that to say much. My breasts are still tender but the mild cramping seems to be all but gone for now. I’ve eliminated all caffeine and have already started eating healthier, so my stomach is actually flatter than normal now. Not having my morning black tea is kind of tough. I may start having it again. Most medical professionals agree that under 200 mg of caffeine is perfectly safe.
I went to my regular doctor the next day and had it confirmed with a quantitative HcG test. At 16 DPO my beta HcG was 311. The doctor said that corresponds to 4-6weeks pregnant. From what I’m reading too that’s a good number. I also went and bought a copy of What to Expect When You’re Expecting. There are some reviews saying that it just scares you about everything that could go wrong and makes you even more of a worrier. I’ve already read quite a bit of it and I don’t agree with that at all, it’s actually quite reassuring and very comprehensive.
Pregnancy, and especially early pregnancy (at least from what I can tell in this very early stage) is definitely a mixture of excitement and worry. A whole host of things can go wrong. P confessed to me the other night that he is really worried and freaked out about everything from miscarriage and how I would handle that to not being a good father (P will be a top tier kind of father, btw). I told him it’s a bit like never allowing yourself to fall in love for fear of having your heart broke. Or never driving for fear of getting into a car crash. Sometimes you just have to take a leap of faith. The odds of this going well are very much in our favor. *Knock on wood*
I really don’t fear miscarriage that much. It’s a very really possibility at this point, but I trust my body to work as it should if everything is mean to be. Miscarriage is often the result of a chromosomal abnormality, like natural selection. Frankly, I’m okay with that. Of course I would be disappointed and probably a bit sad, but I am by no means attached yet. I’m just so happy that we were able to conceive. We work! I’m sure I’ll feel a much stronger connection and consequently sadder if something happens as we go on.
Obesity is a big problem with the women in my family, so I will be extra cautious to be healthy. I’ll continue to walk to a from work, speed walk on the treadmill at least 30 minutes 3x a week, at least one yoga class a week, and keep up the mild weight training and toning. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit fearful about what this is going to do to my body. I like my normal body, very much in fact. My weight is currently in the low 120s. I think it’s a perfectly safe and reasonable goal to end this pregnancy around 150 lbs. I’ve never been above 130. I don’t want to worry or obsess about my weight after birth, I just want to enjoy my baby and happily consume enough calories to breastfeed.
I do think about other things! P and I actually don’t even talk about it that much at this point. We’re having dinner downtown then seeing Joe Rogan at the Chicago Theatre. I have seen Joe Rogan’s stand-up comedy show no less than three times in the last 18 months. P has a bit of a man crush on him or something. He listens to his podcasts and just loves him. He usually has pretty funny people opening for him, so really I don’t mind. I intend to spend most of the rest of the weekend relaxing.

Log in to write a note
January 25, 2013

Saw you on the front page – congratulations!!! Looks like you’re in for an exciting adventure. =)

January 25, 2013

Glad you’re doing well, I know you’re a perfectionist and imagine this could be a stressful time but it definitely sounds like you have everything under control! Joe Rogan seems like such a jerk – he annoys me with his snide comments towards fighters and even contestants on Fear Factor. I bet his style works a lot better in a stand-up comedy format but three times is a lot. Is it a different set at least? But yes, have a fun and RELAXING weekend!

January 25, 2013

Really, it’s not too hard to stay fit through pregnancy when you are already in the habit, but after you finish breastfeeding is when you really have to stay determined! In a lot of ways I think things are harder for the husbands to handle. They have no control over any of it. It will be so great to be pregnant with your friend! I’m hoping a friend and I can do it together this time.

January 25, 2013

attempting to do some sort of exercise throughout your pregnancy is definitely a great idea- and it will help you during labor, too 🙂 i have friends who gained 40-60 pounds (!!!) over the course of their pregnancies. i gained 30, and my doctor always told me that it wasn’t necessary to gain any more than that, so i think your goal is quite reasonable. also, once i had Avery, all that extra weight melted off in less than a month, so there’s always that….

January 25, 2013

ps i really liked having ‘what to expect when you’re expecting’ as a reference…i recommend ‘what to expect during the first year’, too- it’s definitely come in handy more than once

January 25, 2013

OH THIS IS ALL SORTS OF WONDERFUL!!!!

January 25, 2013

It’s normal to be cautious but I’m sure everything will be fine, that’s great your pregnant the same time as your friend 🙂 I felt fine til I was around 8wks then I was hit with the nausea til 12wks (nothing but sore boobs with my 1st) so don’t be alarmed if you get no symptoms or they may just come later.you could try decaf coffee? As for treadmill just do what u feel upto, I had lots of tugging

January 25, 2013

In my lower abs and it hurt for me to workout so I left it til 12wks til I knew everything was ok and I felt better. Welldone on eating better, before you know it your baby will be here. Take it easy xx

January 27, 2013

CONGRATS!!

January 28, 2013

Congratulations! Yeah, it’s SO hard not to freak out with worry but just try relaxing and basking in the glow of happiness. Things will fall into place.

January 28, 2013

Dating sucks. My friends say I should play hard to get. “Blow him off a few times.” Really?!

February 3, 2013

Oh heck yes the 1st trimester can be stressful because you’re just hoping to get through it and find out your baby is ok. I finally am 12 weeks and am less than 2 days away from my 1st ultrasound at which I will breathe a sigh of relief. I have heard the heartbeat on my own though so that is quite the reassurance also. Really hope you don’t get m/s soon like a lot of women tend to!

February 3, 2013

random – congrats!

February 12, 2013

ryn: Thanks! I’m sure you’ll have a lovely Valentines as well! I hate to say, I kinda wish it was the boy going to PV with me now that I see what a romantic place it is! And my 2 friends are annoying me with their “we just want to lay out and drink for 5 days” there’s ALL kinds of fun things to do there that these lazy butts just don’t care for.

February 14, 2013

CONGRATS! So happy for you! Squuuuueeeee!