Waiting

I was 8 weeks Saturday. We went in Monday for our first big appointment and ultrasound. After asking a bunch of questions and examining me, she started the internal ultrasound. Almost immediately, she said “you’re earlier than you thought.” My heart sank, I wanted to be at a safer place, not earlier than 8 weeks! She said the baby was measuring 6w1d and when she said that, I knew. There was no heartbeat and it had stopped growing. She wasn’t so convinced and kept asking me if I was sure about my dates. I’m 100% sure. She said that if I am sure, she was very concerned about it being a healthy pregnancy. She wants to do another ultrasound in a week and if there is no growth, move forward with medication or a D&C to remove the tissue.

Wednesday I was bleeding and called her office and they squeezed me in with another doctor. He examined me and said my cervix was still hard and closed despite the bleeding.  He then did an ultrasound and confirmed that there was no change, albeit only two days later. He was a little more forthright and said that if I am sure about my dates, this pregnancy is not happening. He said that it was absolutely nothing I did and that “at least you know the plumbing works.”
We are extremely disappointed. No bleeding and finding out through an ultrasound seems like a unique kind of cruelty. I had no morning sickness at all, but I continued with the mild cramping the whole time, I was tried and had less energy, and my breasts were super tender and growing. I felt like everything was fine. I wasn’t even worried; I had such a peace about it. I was totally Zen, and that is SO not like me. Of course I knew this could happen, but I just really, really didn’t think it would. I feel like I can’t trust me instinct at all.
Miscarriage is usually the result of chromosomal abnormality, this baby just wasn’t meant to be and we respect that and will try again. In fact, if there was something wrong with this baby, a miscarriage this early seems merciful. But that doesn’t take away my or my family’s pain after of month of excitement and joy.
All the waiting is the hardest part. I’m just really sick of waiting to have a baby and at this point it will be about a year from now if we’re really lucky and get pregnant in a couple months. I waited to find the perfect guy, waited to let our relationship build and strengthen with time, waited to get married, waited to buy a house big enough for children and visiting family, waited to get to this point in my career. I waited until I was as perfectly ready as I could be to have the child I have desperately wanted for years. Then it takes six months to get pregnant and now this.
I get that this is very common. And I am encouraged that we are able to get pregnant. I know many people (here on OD included!) who miscarry and then go on to have healthy wonderful pregnancies relatively quickly. It just totally fucking sucks.
We’ll be alright.

Log in to write a note
February 22, 2013

I’m so sorry.

February 22, 2013

Oh no, I am so deeply and terribly sorry to read this. My heart just sank and I don’t even know what to say. Just don’t lose faith. My neighbor had 2 miscarriages and just had a healthy baby girl 4 months ago. My best friend had one as well and now has 3 gorgeous children. Sending good thoughts your way, take care.

February 22, 2013

So sorry to hear this – like you said though many stories like this are a tough start to a happy ending. Even for Beyonce. Big hugs and hope things work out soon. xx

February 22, 2013

I’m so sorry. XO

February 22, 2013

My heart goes out to you. I’m so sorry.

February 22, 2013

I’m so sorry it’s been so hard. It will all be worth the wait and disappointment when it does all work out one day. You are lucky to have a wonderful husband for support.

February 22, 2013

The loss of a baby, no matter how new, is extremely painful. I am so, so sorry you are going through it. We can all rejoice when the baby you are meant to bring into this world and raise is finally created, but until then, we’ll mourn with you. I’m so sorry

February 22, 2013

Miscarriage is always hard no matter what. Maybe because you waited for everything to be just right God wants this baby to be just right. I hope that you can find peace and that the next time your baby will be perfect.

February 22, 2013

I’m so sorry. But you’re right that it’s better this happened this early. I know some people who miscarried at 12 weeks or later. By that time you could be pregnant again. Good luck!

February 22, 2013

I’m so sorry. I also know many people who had the same experience and went on to have babies- but that doesn’t make this suck any less right now, I know. Hugs and positive thoughts to you.

February 22, 2013

This makes me so sad, though I know you’ll be okay. I just imagine this is such a particular kind of hurt that no one should have to go through. You have a really good way of thinking about it though. Xoxoxo

February 22, 2013

I’m sorry for your loss.

February 22, 2013

So sorry. Very sad.

I lost a baby after i had the implant fitted and was about 8 weeks along when it came away I was completely heart broken and my mind set has not been the same since I hope you get the baby you hope and wish for and i am so sorry for your loss but the pain dose heel my baby was not planned but he/she was very much wanted on my behalf but i did not know i was pregnant until it was to late XX

February 24, 2013

I am so sorry. Common or not it doesn’t take away from the pain or make it better. I know the pain you are experiencing and I wish for nothing more than strength and hope for you in a time that feels like those things seem hard to find.

March 2, 2013

I’m sorry, this is awful. But as the doctor said, at least the plumbing works, and that is huge. I’m sure you’ll have no issues getting prego again and having a healthy baby… good luck and I hope it is sooner rather than later!

March 4, 2013

Aww. I’m so sorry hon. You are very brave and strong and you will have everything you wish for soon. Yes it could be worse to lose a baby with fingers, toes, a visible face like I’ve read many times unfortunately. But it doesn’t make things any easier to have such hopes, dreams and excitement turn into such a tragedy.