Couldn’t say it better than I did on Facebook…

You know, the Baby Boomers were brought up with the idea that if you work hard and pay your dues, you can retire and live a happy life, do what you want when you want…at least that’s what I always gathered from listening to them. So you can imagine how much I DETEST that their retirements are shaping up to be nowhere NEAR what they should be. And can I help? Of course not, because I wasted so much time in my own life.

I will be FORTY when I graduate from college, for crying out loud!

I swear by these words:

Once I get a career established, my parents’ lives WILL be better, if it kills me to get it that way. I’m SICK TO DEATH of watching them suffer when they did all the things they were "supposed" to.

And yes, when I was younger, I took it as "why bother to try, when you don’t get what you are supposed to?" Not anymore. This undignified defiance that seems to propel me through my life is saying, "To hell with it! Do it, anyway!" *sigh* Took freakin’ long enough.

Log in to write a note

Good for you for doing it all anyway!

ryn: You’re probably right. I’ll let you know if I figure it out first!

September 29, 2013

Hey, thanks for the note, I appreciate it. I don’t know why I get the way I do on occasion. I just have to say things to get rid of them. in regards to your post, I feel the same way you do. Which I think in the end is what is supposed to be done. Only the most lucky people are able to prepare enough to retire. That *is* in part what children should be I think. A community to care for eachother.

ryn: She sounds like me – I’m 34 but probably more like 20 [some would argue younger]. All the doctors say you get stuck at whatever age shit happened to you. Anyway! It was nice to hear from you!