A new me to see

Today I woke up excited because Mom said she would take me into town with her shopping. I put on clothes and waited for mom to get ready. We left about 10am. Our first stop was a nail salon, which was a surprise for me. I had never had my nails painted before. Mom said I was getting older and she needed to start treating me to nice things like this. I got to pick out a nail color I like, it was pink. I was glad I wore shorts, because they gave us leg massages. It was a really nice place. Our next stop was a clothing store. Mom had me try on pretty things, and then told me if they looked OK on me. She bought me 3 shirts, a pair of jeans, 3 pairs of shorts, and socks. Next we went to lunch. We chose a Mexican restaurant. Mom and I both ended up getting the same thing, tacos. Next we went to a department store and looked around. I went down the makeup isle. I asked Mom if I was old enough to wear makeup now. She said sure, if you can get your nails done, you can wear makeup. I picked out a few things that I like. Eye shadow and blush for my cheeks. We walked around and came to girls clothing. Mom looked at the underwear and then at me. You need underwear priss? I said mom, do I ever wear underwear? Ok, just asking she replied. Then she saw the bra section and turned her head towards me. Forget it mom, I don’t have any. We both giggled. Mom said, they’ll grow priss. We walked around for a while looking, but didn’t see anything we liked. Mom asked if I wanted my hair cut, it had gotten long since I last had it cut. I told her I didn’t want it cut, daddy likes it long. You and your father, she said. What do mean, I asked. Mom said I never do anything unless daddy will like it. You’re getting older, you need to start doing things that make you happy, not your father. I thought then that mom was jealous of how close daddy and I are. Or maybe she’s right and just trying to teach me something. We had a great day out together. When we got home, mom helped me put on makeup. She said I looked like a little model with my long blonde hair and pink eye shadow. I felt pretty. Mom said I have natural beauty and didn’t really need makeup. I put on a new shirt, new shorts and new socks. Mom took a couple of pictures of me for the photo album. When daddy got home, I ran up to him for my hug. He picked me up and squeezed me and put me back down. I waited for him to notice anything different about me. He looked at me and said, excuse me young lady, do you know where my daughter is. I said it’s me daddy, Tink. He said oh my, it is you. You look absolutely beautiful.  I told him mom took me shopping.  Mom was behind me. How do you like your little girl now daddy. I showed him my nails. Well, you look 5 years older Tink.  I told him I was still 10, just a prettier 10. It was a great day. Time to hide my diary.

Log in to write a note