Day 3 of the Dreaded C – Best man ever tho.

Ending Day 3 of the dreaded Covid.

So stupid. I got the vaccine. I’ve been fairly careful while still living life. But I was putting off the booster as I work so much. Stupid choice. I’m fairly confident I got it at the restaurant. The cook and his coworker girlfriend were both super sick and he swore it was covid. But they kept insisting he works. Look how well that worked out. Supposedly the girlfriend was going to get tested today. My math says it’s like day 11 since they got sick. A little late for that?

Day 1 & 2 I was fairly confident I was dying. I haven’t had body aches like this since influenza 17 years ago and I’m not even sure those compare. From my toes to the top of my head. Every muscle. Every joint. Awful. Fever that wouldn’t come down even with meds. Meds wouldn’t take the edge off the pain. Day 3 is still awful but better. Hopefully tomorrow will be even better. The doctor started steroids right away for my asthma. And I’m on a large amount of recommended supplements in hopes of getting better faster. I decided against the infusion as I had to do an ER visit for it. No. Thank. You.

I‘ve had far too much time in semiconsciousness to contemplate life. Began thinking of writing my own obituary at one point in the misery. Yeah, I’m a dramatic cry baby when sick. But it would have been a fabulous read for those that like obituaries. (I’m also weird and read every single one every day.)

Today Max washed my hair. Then made me a huge tray of “food with healing properties” and delivered it to bed. He’s amazing. If I didn’t know that already.

I spent time thinking if I was still married. How much more awful this would be. Not only would I be physically miserable but I’d be emotionally dying too. He was always so mean if I got sick. It was about him. Yelling that he can’t be sick. That it was my fault I caught whatever. That I was careless. I’d have to move to a different room. And bleach the whole house the whole time I was miserable. This was how I ended up moving into the spare room for months. Noro. Then covid vaccine. I just stayed there. It was nice. Sleeping in my own bed wasn’t allowed. And he did nothing nice. Hell, I had surgery and ended up having complications because he was throwing such a fit I was resting and not cleaning. So I quit pain meds, cleaned and end up with a collapsed lung as I wasn’t taking deep breaths due to the pain. Lovely.

He wouldn’t have made me food or washed my hair. He wouldn’t have laid next to me and tried to help me sleep while I was so feverish and miserable I could only cry. Laid there until I relaxed and fell asleep. He wouldn’t have taken care of the dogs. Or house. Or went to the store for more recommended supplements and food.

I’m so lucky. Seriously. I may be miserable but it’s also a helpful wake up call to realize I made the right choice. The best choice. Slightly sad I wasted 14 years of my life. But in the same breath. I learned valuable lessons. And if I was ready sooner the stars may not have been aligned to give me Max. Everything happens for a reason. Everything.

Now back to sleep before I’m ready to die again when meds wear off.

Log in to write a note
January 28, 2022

I don’t think it’s weird that you read obituaries.  I think it’s kind of cool, actually.

February 8, 2022

Have read your post 3x, trying to find signs if I have it.  This virus is quite fickle and comparing readings like this with that of others plus the news feels like anybody could be doomed just like that. Not scared to die either but heck its just part of creations.  We live and die.

By the way, I read obituaries too! (Who sez nobody read ’em)  In fact,  obits were part of my writings in the past.  I have clients in the hospice and funeral business then.