ER and Transfer Done – 2DP3DT of 3 Embryos – 06/22/2023

Well, just like that – The awful journey of our 2nd retrieval is over.  Now, moving into the awful waiting for 2ish weeks to see what happens.

How did that journey turn out?  Not well… Manifesting was garbage.  My results – less than impressive.

Remember, I wanted 10 eggs… 8 fertilized… a couple PGT normal embryos.  Simple enough, right?

We left Friday.  First Friday, I get a message that I’m not a candidate for fresh transfer as due to my levels I’m at risk for OHSS, to begin drinking 60 ounces of electrolytes a day, 200 nutritional grams of protein a day.  I replied I was already doing this, my stomach was NOT swollen/bloated and I did not feel I was getting OHSS as my numbers didn’t even meet the criteria.  They then replied that the doctor will make the final decision at retrieval.  Okay, whatever.  (But I’m thinking in my head – Do they even have the right chart?  My estrogen wasn’t even close to the cut-off.)

Saturday morning I went in for retrieval – It went okay.  Nurses couldn’t get IV.  Anesthesia guy was amazing and got it.  I was then told I wasn’t eligible for a fresh transfer because my progesterone was 1.73 and it can’t be above 1.5.  Uhhhhh?  I explained my research.  The DHEA I’m taking could impact progesterone level and they are likely lower.  Technically my progesterone has been steady at 1.5ish since baselines – never going up/down really.  I don’t believe the level is that accurate.  I had also been told under 2 was sufficient and either way I was under 2.  The nurse tells me the doctor can explain it to me.  I’m annoyed at this point – First it’s OHSS that I’m not part of, now it’s progesterone though I was previously told under 2 was fine.  Doctor comes in and gives me the “why not to do a fresh transfer” speech.  I again tried to explain my research.  She didn’t seem to care, I gave up.  Like you aren’t even going to address my concerns on DHEA making it higher?  Really?

Woke up…. 9 eggs retrieved.  Still recommended no fresh transfer.  She’d do it if I insisted, but she wasn’t in agreement.  I’d need to let them know what I decided at my fertilization call the next day.

I spent the rest of Saturday totally unimpressed.  Pacing.  Drinking fluids.  Eating Protein. Debating what in the hell I was going to do.  Researching.  I have read more journal articles in the last few days than I did in college.  My gosh.  In the end – I kept coming back to the same thing – MY levels were NOT high.  With my AMH and age – Day 3 is the best option for me personally.  Freezing them does risk losing them during thaw and if I didn’t have many it was a large risk.  At this point I had no idea what was fertilized, but knew I truly believed in 3 Day Fresh.

So, me being me…. I found the head doctors cell phone number and texted him…. Because that’s me?  He’s the founder of this clinic, the researching brilliance behind it – He’s got different beliefs than many but he’s often right.  Very right.  And he actually called me back – He asked what exactly I wanted to do and I explained the above…. His response – ABSOLUTELY DO IT!  He said he’d never tell me no unless it was over 3.  My 1.73 was nothing.  Lining?  GO FOR IT – Thick can be good and it looks fine.  He then asked how many I planned to do and I stated just 1 and I’d PGT the rest.  Why? He explained he’s done this for ages and he’s seeing a trend with PGT that perfect embryos don’t produce babies and imperfect embryos are given a chance and they get a healthy baby.  He said he’s saw this too many times to even agree with it anymore.  He’s happy to take my money and do the test, but that honestly, he doesn’t think it’s necessary in my case if I’m willing to transfer Day 3s and do more than 1 at a time.  In the end – We determined I was 100% transferring and to let them know that in the morning.

They called Sunday morning… Only 4 of my 9 eggs were mature.  Only 1 fertilized.  I cried and cried and cried.  One.  One embryo.  One chance.  4 mature?  WTF?  WHY?  When I finished crying I decided I needed to just pray.  Pray for my 1 embryo, pray he or she stick, pray for a healthy baby due in March.  So many prayers, negotiations, begging.  Praying this is THE one.  The perfect one.

Asked during that call if I wanted to freeze at Day 3 or push to PGT.  Ummm, NO?  I’m not doing PGT. I’m transferring fresh.  Advised she’d look at my chart… She then came back and said my progesterone was too high, so unfortunately they wouldn’t do a fresh transfer.  My only response – Unfortunately I talked to the main doctor yesterday while he’s on vacation and he said it was fine and to go for it.  Pause…. So you are doing a fresh transfer?  Yep, I am.  Any questions?  She then scheduled me for everything.

Monday, I went in to get a Lipid Infusion and HCG Wash.  Went fine.

Tuesday, I arrived and did acupuncture.  Then went for transfer.  I chose to go alone as I couldn’t handle M’s negative attitude.  I’m good.  Met with the nurse.  Got some valium.  Chose the doctor I like for transfers and not the progesterone negative asshole.

Embryology finally came in…. Great news, I had THREE embryos.  2 fertilized late.  The 4th one didn’t at all.  Decent grades, 3/8, 3/>9u, and 3/5u.  3/8 is the goal really.  Now what?  I asked about the 5 eggs that didn’t count – She stated that it was likely they’d of never been viable.  They were too small/too big. 4 were too big at baseline really.

In the end – I decided to transfer all 3 embryos.  With my history, it’s very unlikely all 3 will implant.  We’ll still be lucky if 1 implants and sticks around.  Yes, my risk of multiples go up, but not substantially when you look at my failed transfer and zero normal embryos.  We’ll be lucky if 1 of the 3 is a normal embryo and can successfully implant and grow…..

Didn’t save this yesterday, so I’ll just save now and add more ramblings later.  This is more the informational side to remember, gosh do I have so much more to the emotional roller coaster side.  This is rough…..

Log in to write a note