Christian Atheism?

David Hayward, aka @nakedpastor, is a cartoonist with whom I often seem to be on the same wavelength.  His cartoons often lampoon the collision of what Christianity has come to mean in our society as opposed to what it’s supposed to mean, which is “Christ-like.”  He often talks about the process of extricating oneself from fundamentalist thinking, which, if you’ve been there, you know can mean losing friends and family members.  He refers to it as “deconstruction.”

So this cartoon was posted this morning.  What followed was a lot of cheering that this is so accurate.  His comments were reasonable, which is basically that one should never say never.  I don’t have a problem with what he was saying, but I did kind of resist what seemed to be happening in the comments, which felt to me to be a statement that once one gives up on the literalism of Christianity, one loses Jesus.  So I’m asking why?

I think it’s human nature to want to cling to the idea of a divine creator/protector/father. It’s really beyond our capacity to understand a vast nothingness that just existed for eternity before us, then exploded into the world we know, and will continue to exist for eternity after us.
“Believing” gives us a sense of control. We want to believe that our prayers are heard and when we are afraid, it brings us comfort.  It also gives us a sense of immortality.  If there is a god and we have souls, we’ll continue for eternity.

Letting go of that is too scary for most people, which is, I believe, why most people claim to believe in “a higher power.”

Call it a gift or call it a curse, but I have the creativity to imagine the beauty of a god, while also possessing the capacity for logic that allows me to see religion for what it is: training wheels.  But letting go of the strict rules and fantastical stories doesn’t have to mean letting go of Jesus!
Jesus’ teachings are what bring us comfort; not his “magical powers,” or some complicated mix of commands and demands from a God who loves us so much he can’t look at us without a human sacrifice!

Jesus serves as an example of how humans should treat one another. That love for one another is the true miracle. Honestly, if we think about the times that we feel our prayers have been heard and answered, hasn’t it always been through someone’s love? I love Jesus in the way I love my grandmother who passed away when I was a very small child. I don’t know if she sees me from where she is now, but the idea comforts me. I carry myself in a way that I believe would make her proud. Not because I’m afraid of her wrath, but because she loved me, and this is how I will continue to honor her memory.
And that’s how I still have and will always have Jesus. 💝

Log in to write a note
June 19, 2019

In the Jewish religion there is no loosing G-d or the higher power because we all know from a young age that g-d is up there somewhere and will never leave the place.  But then there are those who have found him again but I don’t think he was really lost we just forgot to look up or go back in our memories  One question for you…How can you believe in anything when there is no proof that it really existed in the first place and how do you know that any religion really exists if there is no science to find the answer or even a mathematical formula?. Like the big bang theory or the chaos theory?

June 20, 2019

I think you are doing it right. Plus, Jesus drinks tea!

June 21, 2019

I agree with you about religion. The idea of a God allows us to believe that we have a purpose, and someone who watches over us. It, also, gives us a form of government, a set of morals to live by. Most morals that have worked their way into our western society originated through some western religion.

June 21, 2019

@justamillennial, I don’t believe that a belief in god is necessary to give us purpose.  I have wonderful friends who are atheist and have a life full of purpose.

Also, most “morals” are a common theme through all major religions, eastern, western, or from outer space.  I did a really exciting project in college, in which I interviewed people of several different religious and non religious backgrounds.  One of the questions that I asked was “what do you think is the most important rule to live by?”  Almost unanimously, it was something like “treat other people the way you would like to be treated,” or “do no harm.”
In my opinion, we all look toward the same God, it’s just that none of us really has any idea what that God is like.

June 23, 2019

As a kid, I made myself believe in God even though my left brain did not believe, because I desperately needed to be loved, n they said God is Love. As my 20s, I decided to stop pretending, n then left Catholicism. Later at 40, my angels showed their presence to me one night. I then truly believed in the presence of higher beings in the spiritual realms.