I’m Getting Married

I know.  I know.  We’ve been engaged for years.  It’s not our fault that in the time since he proposed, my dad died, my fiancé was diagnosed with cancer, our landlord showed his true colors, we ended up homeless for almost a year, and I’m on oxygen pretty much 24/7, now.  Sexy, huh?

I always said that if I ever married again, I would keep my maiden name (hah!  Maiden!).  I admit, I have some anxiety about changing it again, but it means so much to Drew, and all of my concerns are due to the absolute loss of self of my first marriage.  Drew is not that man.

After all the hell we’ve been through, thus far, we just keep getting better and better.  He knows me – like REALLY knows me, and if you’ve never had that, I really don’t know how to articulate it for you.

In any case, we’ve decided to have our wedding closer to my home town.  Everyone would have to travel at least two hours to get here, and the altitude will be hard on those with respiratory issues, specifically, my Mama.

It will be outdoor.  The gentleman who will be officiating our wedding is a very dear friend of mine from Ren Faire days.  It was his giant canvas tent that we used as our home base at faire, so, to me, it’s a sacred space.

I can’t remember ever being this excited about my first wedding.  Back then, I had recurring nightmares that I was in a car with no brakes.  I cried on my wedding night.

This wedding will be a celebration of the family he and I have created together.  His children and grand children, my siblings and nieces and nephews, my mom.  My spirit daughter.  And the friends that have helped us along the way.  Getting to this day has been a journey like no other.

I can’t wait to be his wife.

Log in to write a note
May 16, 2023

I’m so happy for you!

May 18, 2023

@snarkle thank you!

May 16, 2023

About time you two crazy kids get hitched! Finally stop living a life of sin! I’m kidding about the sin stuff, just in case that wasn’t obvious.

I am happy for you guys. You guys have been through a lot together. Is your hometown where your mom lives now? I can’t remember.

May 16, 2023

@heffay, yes.  It’s a camping/fishing/picnic area a lot closer to my mom than here would be.  It has special significance to both of us.  😀

 

May 16, 2023

@oniongirl very nice! When is it happening?

May 18, 2023

@heffay October 14. 😁

May 18, 2023

@oniongirl woohoo! Is it Harry Potter themed?

May 28, 2023

@heffay of course!

May 16, 2023

Congratulations! 😎

May 25, 2023

Oh MAZEL TOV!!  I’m so happy for you and I’m sure you are looking forward to spending your life with your best friend.

June 9, 2023

Congratulations!  I wish you a long & happy life together!