I’m Having My Period & That’s the Least Annoying Part of My Day

Last night, in bed, Drew, the man I love and want to spend the rest of my life with, found that Disney World is hiring a senior manager for low voltage engineering.  That’s been his dream job (thought Disneyland in California was the discussion) for as long as I’ve known him.  But it’s in Florida!

I want to go home!  I moved to the opposite coast with him for a job, and he doesn’t even work for them, anymore.  Now he has a job that would allow him to live anywhere he wants, as long as it’s close to an airport.  So we’ve been talking about moving back toward California when our lease is up here, next Spring.

So, this morning, I slept later than I would have liked, and when I got up, we were out of the makings of my morning smoothie.  So I had to improvise, and it gave me a stomach ache.  While drinking the offending smoothie, I looked at Facebook, and found that the meme I posted last night and thought was completely innocuous, had been commented on by a long-time, good friend, with whom I avoid discussing politics or anything in which we might disagree, because she’s prickly.   The meme to the right is what I posted, and this was her response:  “Actual I think we need one to say it’s okay to be straight and proud.”

Just pasting that makes my blood pressure rise.  Who said you can’t be straight and proud?  As a straight, white female, she has few obstacles in front of her, though more than if she were straight, white male.  The butt hurt is killing me.

So I wanted to talk to someone about it to blow off some steam, but it’s 3 hours earlier in California, where everyone I’d want to talk to was still asleep.  I could go talk to Drew, but he’s asleep, and I didn’t have a lot to say to him last night because of the discussion about Florida.  I realized that I love him too much to try to guilt trip him into passing up this opportunity.  So I made some stipulations, and if he gets the job, I’ll find a way to be happy in Florida.

But now he’s trying to explain my friend’s perspective.  Which I know, and think it’s childish at best.  And besides, it’s not even what she said, as much as the fact that when she posts idiotic pro-Trump crap, I ignore it because she says she doesn’t want to discuss politics.  But I don’t need him translating bigot to me, and justifying their stance because “it was in the workplace.”

Why are people so fucking irritating?  I need pizza.

…. and chocolate….

…. and margaritias….

Log in to write a note
June 2, 2019

Why is it when one is very different the others have to point out the obvious?  Are we not who we are and considered perfect regardless?

So did you get your pizza your chocolate and your margarita?  If you would rather I have sharp objects I through at a dart board?

June 2, 2019

big·ot

/ˈbiɡət/

noun

a person who is intolerant toward those holding different opinions.

I think words sometimes Gerry misused.

 

 

June 2, 2019

big·ot/ˈbiɡət/nouna person who is intolerant toward those holding different opinions.

I think words sometimes Gerry misused.

June 2, 2019

Get*

June 2, 2019

Sorry to hear a lot your argument with your friend. I really like that meme, and I think that it’s true.

I wish that she would realize the persecution that the LGBQT community faces, rather than saying something like it should be okay to be straight and proud. She could have avoided this argument, though, just by ignoring your Facebook post.

Good luck with the FL situation. I hope you are able to find happiness, wherever you end up going.

June 3, 2019

Oh I am SURE your friend has always had to hide her sexuality for fear of shame and mockery. I am sure that if she married it was hidden away and she never speaks of it or has to call him her partner. I am sure she has been beaten up and spat on in the streets for proclaiming her straight love. It’s never ever ever shown in movies or TV or books or magazines or billboards. I am sure she has been shamed for being heterosexual for her entire life. How did she feel when she came out as straight I wonder?