I’m Struggling

I am struggling with my emotional response to the news that You-Know-Who has Covid.  My first response to hearing it was to laugh.  My second was to doubt that it’s even true.  This was predicted a few weeks ago by this guy of whom I’ve never heard.

Let’s be clear, I don’t want the man or his wife to suffer.  I do want them out of the White House and unable to continue to stir up the hostility that he revels in.  So I’ll admit that I wouldn’t’ hate it if he lost the fight with the virus.

And this is where I struggle.  I’m sick of all of the hate-spewing Trumplings suddenly acting appalled at a lack of compassion.  Where is their compassion for those families living at the border in cages separated from their children, and being sexually abused and experimented on in for-profit institutions own, no doubt, by contributors to Trumps campaign which has already been found to be illegally funneling money into his private ventures.

Tell me that Trump wouldn’t be blowing up Twitter with insults, lies, and conspiracy theories if it had been Biden who announced having the virus.  At least one supporter/aspiring politician is implying that it’s some sort of conspiracy that is getting Republican politicians sick while Democratic politicians remain healthy.  Gee, maybe it’s because they were ignoring the advice of the experts and putting themselves in situations in which they could be exposed.

Trump is a bully, and in every movie in which a bully gets his, we are expected to cheer.  Even in the Bible, we celebrate David for taking down Goliath.

So forgive me for not being sad for a man who has made us the laughing stock of the galaxy.  He has driven a wedge between family members, not because they can’t respectfully disagree, but because being a Trump supporter means having be to be insulting and nationalist – white nationalist on a regular basis.  I don’t know my own mother, anymore.

F̸̧͓̝͙̼͎͂̑ͅủ̷̞̼̇̅̃͊̄͜͝c̶̨̘͓̲͓̈́̃̄̎̅͛̀͜k̶̩̯̬̺̣͂͐͐͊͂̅̐̕ ̵͖͎̙͎̼̾͋̓t̶̮̣̒͋h̵̡̝̝̹̎̂̎͐͆͗̎̇̇e̸̤͒̔͂̈ ̶̨̳̗̘̹͕͙̂̕T̶͍̬̫̻̾̍̾r̶͓̪̿̂̑͛̂̑̊̕͠ǔ̶̳͙̳̪̻̬̺̝̜͔͗̚m̷̡̳͇͈͔̼̏̇̋͐͌̔͋͜͝͠p̸̛̪̯̹̫̳̖̱̳̈̍̃̑ͅs̷̠̤̲̣̩̈́͘

Log in to write a note
October 3, 2020

Excellent entry and I agree with every word you have written.  I too struggle with my feelings.  I know you are a good person.  I am a good person too.  But still, still, how can anyone blame us and others for feeling as they do when it comes to trump and his having COVID-19.  How can anyone blame us?  All of the blame belongs with trump.

October 3, 2020

Spot on. I would be lying if I said my thoughts have been nothing but sending good vibes his way. I laughed my ass off when I woke up to a text from my bff. Karma is a bitch.

October 3, 2020

Preach 🙏

October 3, 2020

The first thing that popped into my head when i heard the news is that now maybe he will realize what he didn’t do that he should have done and that not only did he infect his family but the staff at the white house so now they can’t do their job. And then there was the thought that maybe he will get bad enough that he will have the ventilator down his throat and be put in a coma.  But then if that happened he would probably die because he is at high risk and is considered obese.  All I can say is that I wish and hope that he will turn the world around and make it the best place on earth and America will be even better or more great.

October 3, 2020

Have you seen the Netflix documentary, The Social Dilemma?  We all need to watch it. I watched it with my husband who was curiously unmoved, but am hoping it wakes people up.   I live in a county that 70 percent voted for Trump. People seem to be under a spell almost.  It’s weird.  I’m taking the stand that I will not let my family be divided by me walking away from them.  It sucks, because people I could disagree with and still have a relationship for years have suddenly become very vile, just as you described.  *HUGS*

October 3, 2020

@catholicchristian a “spell” is how I have perceived it, too.  My mother is part of why I’m a feminist.  She’s the one who taught me about prejudice.  How she can support this man boggles my mind!