She Brings Me Joy

Jenna, age 4, with favorite toys: Malibu Ken, Malibu Skipper, and Malibu Barbie, and a teddy bear.

I was obsessed with Barbie from my earliest memory.  The one I got for my 8th birthday was my favorite.  I still have her and will have her until my dying day.  She was my best friend when moving around a lot.

I never got rid of my Barbies.  I had them displayed all over my bedroom right up until I got married.

Even after marriage, they were still a part of my life.  The first Holiday Barbie came out in 1988.  I got married in 1989.  My husband got me one every year while we were together.

At some point, I outgrew them.  I think I actually resented them a little, but I haven’t quit figured that out, just yet.  I’ll write more about that, later.

I had all of the Holiday Barbies stored in a trunk in the garage.  I recently decided that it was time to get rid of them.  I displayed them in an album on Facebook, and let my sister, my cousin, and my best friend choose a couple for the little girls in their lives.  It made me so happy to know they were bringing the kind of joy to those little girls that they once brought me.

Laura, my Spirit Daughter, shared this video on Facebook, today, along with the words, “I LOVE BARBIE AND HER FRIENDS. WATCH THIS RIGHT NOW, DAMN IT.”

It had never occurred to me that she might be interested in any of my dolls.  I realized that I still had the one that came out the year she was born!

I sent her a text, immediately, asking her if she really loved Barbie.

She wrote back that she did.

I asked her if she had this one.

She said that she did not.

I told her it came out the year she was born and it was hers if she wanted it.

She protested, thinking it was worth so much money.  I told her that it isn’t but even if it was, she’s my daughter, and I always dreamed of giving my Barbies to my daughter.

She wrote back, “😭😭 mama.  You’re so sweet!”
I thought that the days of finding joy in Barbie dolls was past, but today, they warmed the cockles of my heart (what ever cockles are).

𝕴 𝖆𝖒 𝖇𝖑𝖊𝖘𝖘𝖊𝖉!

Log in to write a note
October 9, 2020

I had an Uncle and Aunt who gave me a barbiw when I was born it was the first one that came out I got it in 1963 but it came out in 1959. I had this barbie till I was 10 then I gave it a hair cut….Dumb me should have kept it in it’s box then it would be worth something today like…

How much is the first Barbie worth?

Released in 1959, the first-ever Barbie doll features golden hair, a black and white bathing suit and blue eyeshadow. While this rare Barbie has an estimated worth of $8,000, a mint condition doll sold at auction for $27,450.Sep 7, 2016

October 10, 2020

Now your entry made me smile.  Is the photo of the little girl surrounded by Ken, Skipper, and Barbie a photo of yourself?

October 10, 2020

@wildrose_2 Yes it is.  🙂

October 10, 2020

@oniongirl So cute.  😊

I liked my Ken doll better. LOL!! I was such a tomboy!

October 10, 2020

That is so lovely!! HUGGLES!

October 11, 2020

Such a sweet story.