TOTW75 – The Most Amazing Thing

This is hard for me.  I’ve been to some pretty beautiful places.  I’ve had some incredible experiences.  I really don’t know if I can choose.

I think I want to tell you about an amazing moment.

I used to teach at an all-girl Catholic school.  Every October, we would have a day devoted to St. Francis of Assisi.  It was a bit of a play day.

One year, our theme was the decades.  Each grade level prepared skits based on the decade chosen for their year.

Staff was encouraged to participate as well, and as I love to be on stage, my brain went to creating.

I got my very shy friend to commit to doing a skit with me.  We would be “remaking” the duet below, modified for our situation. 😉

I went out first to introduce the act.  I explained that my best friend, Ms. S, was very shy,  so everyone give her a big hand.

When she came out, she was wearing the identical Lucy costume that I was wearing.  So after the applause and screaming died down, I said, “Hey!  I’m Lucy!”

She said, “No!  I want to be Lucy.”

I said, “Why?  This whole thing was my idea.  Why should I have to be Ethel?”

She said, “Because she’s the old one!”

The auditorium exploded.  We stood there bickering and mid fight, a male teacher with a beard came out wearing the same costume.

Now the walls were about to crumble.

He said, “Hey, you said you thought she’d chicken out!”

She said, “You called me a chicken?”

I said, “Dude, You could have played Ricky.  You could have worn pants!”

The music started, and Aimee and I began to dance to the song.  When I faced my side of the auditorium, she untied my apron and threw it on the floor.  We went back and forth, taking apart each other’s costumes, until she finally pulled off my wig!  At that point, we lunged at each other in a mock cat fight.  Henry threw himself between us, and the crowed was insane!  Then Aimee and I looked at each other and I counted to three.  On three, we pulled and Henry’s dress tore away to reveal him standing in a pair of shorts and a shirt that said “Team Jacob!”

Oh my goodness!  The roar was such a high for me.  I’m actually trembling with adrenaline just from remembering it.  Aimee, who was so afraid to do this came away saying, “I could do that again.”  We made history that day.  I got compliments for months.

Sadly, I can’t find any pictures and the video link I had no longer works. 

Log in to write a note
May 1, 2020

What a wonderful memory!!

May 2, 2020

That sounds like a great memory. I hope you can find the video somewhere. Hopefully someone still has it. That seems like something that would be important to have.

May 2, 2020

Maybe there is a new link on You tube?

May 7, 2020

When my children were young we did a lot of plays with their friends for our community. I wrote some of the scripts and did costumes and the set. My daughter took care of the audio and special effects …and she and brothers often had leading roles. You reminded me of how fun it is! And such a wonderful way to connect. Good job, and it seems you did your friend a favor. 🙂

May 11, 2020

That sounds like you had a lot of fun.