The Start of Something Exciting…

For YEARS I have joked with friends and family telling them one day I would write a book about my life.  Many have encouraged me because they are aware of my passion for writing, while others would laugh saying “what the hell would you write about?“.  My answer.  “I have no flipping idea” but I just had the urge to write about something….

During most of my adult life I have written in a diary or a journal – either by hand, on the computer, and even using a good old fashion electric typewriter.  Now I am dating myself!!!  I have even gone as far as paying for a monthly subscription for an online diary service.  Yep – crazy me!  All for the love of sharing my thoughts and writing.  But where have all those notebooks, journals, printed papers or online diaries gone?  Right out the window!  I think I was so scared of someone getting their hands on my personal thoughts back then that I would destroy or just throw any proof of those thoughts.  Believe me – I wish I hadn’t.  Which is why I am here.

Hi 😊 My name is Tracy.  I am a 45 year old mother to a 23 year old daughter and a 21 year old son.  I was married, am now separated and have been for nine years.  As for my relationship status today, I tend to lean towards what the millenials like to use:  it’s complicated !!!😋

I live in Ottawa Ontario with my son and I am your average woman.  Nothing exciting.  I am not rich so don’t come looking for money or to steal my identity because you won’t get much 😄.

I am not a huge celebrity, nor do I have this super amazing career where I earn millions of dollars.  But I do absolutely 💜my job.  Not many can say that. 

I don’t own my home, but I do HAVE my own home.  I have no major hobbies.  I am not a fan of reading, unless of course its some mind blowing erotica 😜 If I had to pick a hobby, I would say canvas painting, coloring, and baking. 

I am not into sports but have and always will be a huge Montreal Canadiens fan.

I am not much of a drinker, but I can polish off an ounce of weed no problem 😆.

I would say I am a good mix of an introvert and an extrovert.  I love my little circle of friends – note the keyword little – and love when we get together.  Any of them reading this right now will know who is among my circle 😘 I am definitely not the bar scene type of woman but I sure do love to dance.

I have always enjoyed writing, and I am actually quite surprised I did not take it more seriously in high school and afterwards.  As much as I sucked at grammar and “all that crap” back then, (and still do), I still enjoy writing and expressing things MY way (whichever way that might be), using MY words (whatever words those may be), whether it be slang, french, English, franglais or even potty mouth swear words, and transcribing MY thoughts.

As I have gotten older I have began expressing myself through words in ways I could never do in person.  Whether I need to get something across on a personal level with a friend or family member, or on a business level, I am and always have been much more comfortable using words.  And in doing so, have many times been complimented by individuals on how well I express myself through words.

Being able to express my dreams, my experiences, or even my dark secrets through words is very soothing and at the same time can be healing.

I considered the whole “blog” idea and all the fun in setting one up.  But the problem with a blog is that you have to get it “out there” to be read. That was too much work.  I already work full time, and I know myself all too well… I would end up giving it up.  I started doing some research on online diaries and journals and narrowed it down to Open Diary and another one.  After a tough decision of a whole $1.00 (the difference in the monthly cost) I opted to sign up with Open Diary.  And as I conclude my first entry, I think I may have found my niche where I can write freely and actually be able to allow others to read my thoughts – both good and bad. Who knows… maybe even import old journal entries!  This could definitely get interesting!

So with that being said, anyone who would like to follow my public journal is more than welcome.  

Thanks for Reading

🍊

Log in to write a note
July 30, 2020

Welcome! I’ve been online journaling since the late 1990’s, but sadly, most of my diaries are gone. One of my life’s great regrets. Oh well. Enjoy your stay at OD!

July 30, 2020

Welcome! This is a great place… I’ve been here since 2000 and it’s a supportive community for the most part.

I also want to write a book. I have self published several books of poetry, but would like to write my memoirs–as my life has been kind of a tornado for the most part.

Hope this place is a good fit. Looking forward to reading more.

July 31, 2020

Hey Tracy!

Your post is great!

You have a special tune and the way you write is amazing.

Since your son and daughter are all fine, just thank God for that…Otherwise that “thing” is complicated for many people out there too!

As far blogging is concerned, even if you’re not earning “millions of dollars” in your career, you can hire freelancers at cheap freelancing websites; they may ghost-write articles for you…

But if you’re not aiming at monetizing your blog through ads, affiliate marketing, through products/services related to your expertise/knowledge/experience/skills, etc. then…it’s not worth spending a penny on either…

Thank you for your diary…I really enjoyed it.

Wayne

August 14, 2020

OMFG!!! THE HABS RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I <3 THEM!!!!! 😀 I live in Canada too! I come from the same place as Jim Carrey and John Candy do. Newmarket!! Nice. Adding you Tracey!!!!

CBW
September 16, 2020

Hello Tracy =) Lovely post. It’s very interesting that you say you are not a fan of reading and yet you so enjoy expressing yourself with words and wish to write consistently. I have yet to meet anyone who writes (fiction, non-fiction or diary) but does not enjoy reading. How funny that the very thing you enjoy doing and intend to keep doing will create things for people to read, haha. What a great little phenomenon!

“As I have gotten older I have began expressing myself through words in ways I could never do in person.  Whether I need to get something across on a personal level with a friend or family member, or on a business level, I am and always have been much more comfortable using words.  And in doing so, have many times been complimented by individuals on how well I express myself through words.” I resonated a lot with this, and this is important because effective communication has never been more important so if you are someone competent at wielding language to clarify and connect then write on girl! Best of luck and I’ll be following along =)