Now’s not the time

The beach was strange that night. A rather weak cold front was pushing through, but didn’t know when or whether to sweep out to sea. So it was sunny and partly cloudy one minute, and then raining the next. Warm and cooler. Wet and dry. There was a misty shroud over the marsh, but with a bright edge of background sunlight waiting to advance from behind and disperse it. Diffused light. An afternoon of contrasts.

An hour or so later, it was dark.

I was coming down the steps of my brother’s house and walked into a little wind storm. The palmettos were flaying wildly and crackling in a stiff breeze. The moon glanced down from its perch in the sky directly above, visible through brief breaks in the clouds.

In front of me the wind seemed to be visible, a wall, a force that tried to keep me back, even as I walked directly into it. I can’t describe the sensation.

I wanted to walk to the darkened beach through that wind, past some real or imagined gateway that allowed me entrance to another world. I sensed it. But only very briefly. I would stand at the water’s edge and find myself disappearing into the night, the air, the water, the reflected light from moon. The golden orb would suddenly be visible over the ocean, and light the way.

I stood there briefly contemplating whether to take that journey over the sand dunes, but decided the time was not right. Another night. Another night.

Log in to write a note
April 15, 2023

The other mystical realm only exists in imagination.  You probably would have gotten cold and wet. At home, you can go there in your mind from the comfort of your easy chair.

April 15, 2023

@startingover_1 No, I’d become one with Nature, the elements, the universe, no matter where I was.  The physical realm is merely a portal to the mystical realm which is as real as the imagination! 🙂

April 15, 2023

@oswego Does that mean I’m a figment of your imagination? Or you of mine? LOL

April 15, 2023

@startingover_1 No!  A figmentation ! What is “reality” anyway?  Haha

April 16, 2023

Felt like I was there with you…could see the contrasting lights and feel the breeze and smell the ocean.

April 17, 2023

@happyathome  Oh, that special place on the beach conjures all kinds of memories and emotions for me since our family has been going there since the late 60s and my brother has lived there for almost 30 years.  On summer nights with a full moon casting silvery reflections on the ocean, the beach becomes a magical place.  I know for sure!

April 16, 2023

Enjoyed this very much. 😎

April 17, 2023

@tracker Thank you so much! 🙂