Panhandling: The Moral Dilemma

My whole life I’ve been aware of the homeless among us. I remember like it was yesterday driving with my parents in downtown New Orleans and going down Camp Street, which was the city’s Skid Row at the time.

I was about 11 or 12 and I remember looking out the window in wide-eyed fascination at the broken bottles and litter on the sidewalks, the abandoned buildings, but most of all, the people lined up at the Ozanam Inn, the one and only homeless shelter run by a Catholic order, I forget which one. This was before the days when drug addiction usually meant alcoholism, and later, heroin, cocaine, meth, and now opioids and fentanyl. The hapless men lying on the sidewalks were all, it was presumed, alcoholics down on their luck, “bums” as people called them. I wondered how people and places like this could exist in my tidy, childlike middle class suburban universe.

My world was a place where respectable houses and neat lawns and front yards lined the streets, overhung with shady oak trees. On Camp Street I felt like I was looking out on an alien world, a place I couldn’t comprehend and thus feared.
The memories of that street have stayed with me over the decades, but as I moved on in my life and careers, I lived and worked in smaller towns and cities and didn’t notice the problems that festered in bigger cities. Even in Columbia in the 1970s, I wasn’t too aware of it, even though there was a large shelter downtown.

When I was in junior high and high school more than 50 years ago, I’d go shopping on New Orleans’ famed, wide and teeming main thoroughfare, Canal Street. It was a fascinating time and place to wander the streets of a big city, and on Canal Street there were huge department stores and dime stores, air-conditioned and icy cool. What a relief to step into one of those stores on a sweltering Saturday afternoon in semi-tropical New Orleans. But often, I would spot outside the store, and in other locations along the street, men with missing legs in wheelchairs holding tin cans in hopes of getting passerby to drop in a few coins. I was aghast at this sight and hurried along my way.

I’ve lived in Charleston 25 years now, and there are a lot of homeless in this city, drawn here for many of the same reasons they came to New Orleans. When I was a kid, it didn’t occur to me that the homeless might be residents of the city. Maybe I thought they were all modern-day hoboes who still hopped freight trains and cross-crossed the country, restless, aimless wanderers who were supposed to possess the ultimate freedom — nothing to tie them down. Perhaps in the 1930s that was one way to survive the Great Depression. But the reality today is far different.

Homelessness is an outgrowth of lack of treatment for the mentally ill, including many homeless veterans, out-of-control substance abuse, a nationwide shortage of affordable housing, and the terrible misfortunes that strike people of all classes of society at all stages of life. To me, homelessness exposes the rot at the core of an unequal and unjust society where money rules and greed corrupts.

Over the years I’ve often been approached by panhandlers asking for “a couple of dollars for bus fare.” No more “Can you spare some change?” Inflation, you know? I mostly assumed these individuals, men as well as women, were homeless and hungry or desperate. Why on earth would anyone ask for money from strangers? Or were they shrewd con artists hustling up to a hundred dollars on a good day? Who’s to know? So I mostly just passed by, mumbling “sorry” or something equally lame.
Sometimes I’ll listen to their stories for a few seconds or minutes then quickly make my exit from a scenario that always troubles my conscience. Yes, they’re most likely going to use whatever I give them for beer, wine or worse, but again, how am I to know? They’re probably really hungry. But in my mind, I always say to myself that I’ve contributed to the local homeless shelter and food bank for many years, so why don’t they just go there instead of bothering me and shaking the wobbly foundations of my house built on sand of excuses and rationalizations.

So I always come out of these encounters feeling a bit ashamed, slightly soiled by the gritty realities of life that I mostly manage to elude and keep compartmentalized. But if I’m the Christian I profess to be, but who often fails mightily at living up to the core values and tenets of his religion, can I ever justify not helping someone in need, even if they’re only using the small sum of money you’re giving them for alcohol or drugs?

In Matthew 25:40 are these words, “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ “ I’ve come to the conclusion now that if someone asks me for money I’m going to give them something. Not a card that gives them the address of the homeless shelter.

Our local newspaper carried a big article and editorial last year citing the admonition of police and city officials for people not to give money to panhandlers because of many of the reasons I cited above.. Back then when I first read it I said, “Okay, that’s the answer to this terrible moral dilemma. Now I have an excuse and a rationale, a reason not to give in to the unkempt and wild-eyed mendicants who approach me. I can’t escape from the problem, but I don’t have to support their drug habits. End of story.

A couple of months ago in the parking lot of the post office a man made a beeline for me, requesting a couple of dollars. Hesitating only for a moment, I pulled out my wallet and gave him a dollar. “Thanks,” he said, and went on his way.

For once I didn’t feel guilty or embarrassed for myself or the person asking for the money. It would have been easier to just say, “sorry” and forget about it. But it’s never been easy for me to do that. I always had to struggle with my conscience. Not anymore, if I can help it.

A month later I was coming out of Dollar Tree and there was a man soliciting money for homeless veterans. That particular store apparently allows solicitation. I didn’t see the man, and he didn’t ask me for anything, but I overheard a young man tell his companion, “I buy lunch for a bum at least twice a week.” I had to laugh because I’ve never done anything like that. I thought they’d just get belligerent if I offered to buy them some food.

We all have our own way of dealing with this. I’m not going to judge anyone, but I recall many years ago seeing a man unhesitatingly deposit some money in the hand of a beggar. I remember thinking, “Wow, that person has a heart. I should be more like him.”

As they say, “There but for the grace of God go I.”

Log in to write a note
March 17, 2023

I have the same dilemma as you.  Though I remember on the way out of the grocery store a gal came up to me – first complemented me on my outfit, and she wished she could afford pretty clothes, too.  Then she told me her kids were in the car, and they were so hungry.  I did give her some money.  But then, a couple weeks later, on the other side of town, the same gal came up to me, with the same speech – (apparently did not remember me) and my compassion floated away, as I realized that both times I was in front of a liquor store.

Now, looking back on it, even if it IS a scam to support an addiction – or even a lucrative scam to support a decidedly-not-poverty lifestyle – it’s still worthy of pity.  why not give something if you have the cash on you?  That’s the problem nowadays – I rarely have cash on me anymore.

March 18, 2023

@onlysujema That’s really the way I see it.  The mere act of saying what she does to get money is pitiable, sad and depressing.  There’s no way in my opinion that she really wants to do whet she did.  It’s the human condition.  Mendicants of every stripe will always be with us.  We can ignore them or we can help in some modest way that also recognizes their humanity, which all people still have.

I will co continue give to the local shelter and food bank, but it’s going to be difficult to not have any cash on me out of a lifetime of sheer, ingrained habit.  But I’m going to try.

March 17, 2023

I knew a guy who had a decently lucrative business and he was spotted by someone at a freeway off ramp panhandling. The can make $600 per day! There was even an organized ring of panhandlers that would meet each morning at a local hotel and get assignments of where to go each day. An undercover reporter followed one, who lived in a nice house. Law enforcement advises to give to organizations who actually help, rather than donating to fraudsters. We can pat ourselves on the back and say that “you never know, it’s better to err on the side of good” but more often than not you’re enabling someone who is either a con artist or an addict who needs actual help. Unless you invite someone to a restaurant and buy them food that they eat right there, or perform an act of service (you see videos of barbers who give free haircuts to homeless people), it’s probably better to give to organizations who know how to help, like shelters, etc.

March 19, 2023

@startingover_1

I hear what you are saying, but standing in freezing weather in a disheveled  state, begging/panhandling at an intersection, is a degrading experience for anyone.  I’d even feel sorry for organized  drug addict/con artists who do this.  So yes,  there  are organized fraudsters despicably conning well-meaning fully human persons out of money.  Endless shame on them!.

I would not give in those intersection situations.  At the same time, I think the idea of some of them making $600 a day is sheer fantasy and nothing but an urban myth.  I’ve heard $300 a day.  If this were true we’d have every imaginable  variety of huckster and mendicant at intersections all over the city.  There would be cars honking and traffic jams as people hurriedly stuffed $20 in their grubby, greedy hands all day long.  How would someone feel after a day of this? Scummy, if they have a shred of decency left!

As I mentioned in the essay, I have contributed to my local food bank and homeless shelter since I’ve lived here for 25 years.  But that doesn’t mean I’d automatically rule out giving a dollar or two to a person who approaches me asking for food and there’s no McDonald’s around. I should have Mickey D gift cards in my pocket just in case.

March 18, 2023

I haven’t encountered many panhandlers or homeless people.  There is one man up town that walks around town and talks to himself all the time and he has asked me for money a few times.  If I have anything I give it to him but I don’t often have cash or even change on me.  One day I told him I didn’t have any cash but asked if he was hungry.  He said he was so I went and got him a hamburger and fries from Sonic and took that back to him.   I have seen a few people in bigger places panhandling at stop signs and red lights and have never given anything to them….just haven’t.  It does make me sad to think of how many mentally challenged homeless people there are.  That’s just sad.

Another interesting read…enjoyed it very much.

March 19, 2023

@happyathome Sensible and wise are your words here.  This is a complicated and I intractable social problem that speaks volumes to the injustice and lack of services for those who are mentally ill, out of work, or living in abysmal poverty.

As a rule I don’t think it’s wise to give money to strangers under most circumstances.  Like you the compassionate thing is to offer to buy food to someone who approaches you and says they are hungry. I have never done this, but I look upon your example as a model of what to do, if it seems safe.

I feel fortunate that we have two outstanding nonprofits here which do an excellent job providing food and shelter to those in need.  I will continue to support them, as I have in the past.