The Internet versus “real life”

 

I often think about all the reading, learning, entertainment, and social awakening the Internet has brought me, this past year particularly with the pandemic, but every other year, too. The Internet, for better or worse, has become my life’s anchor. I never see anybody but my brother and his girl friend once a week, so being online is my connection to the world of other people. Nature is my connection to the spiritual realms of existence.

At my age, I can’t imagine too much change. When the pandemic eases and I move into my new, much smaller place, I have a feeling I’ll want to get on the road and see some of my good friends in other states. That’s the problem — they live far away. I don’t have any friends here that I have anything in common with.

It’s very true one may not “remember” anything too specific about the tons of stuff we read on the Internet, but I will continue my daily reading habits because what I read and learn in the moment is so fascinating and worth knowing. For the majority of my life there was no Internet, so it changed everything for me, literally. I don’t want to even contemplate what my life would have been without it.

Like most of us, I seem to be always searching for some elixir of life, the pure essence of being, experienced in the present, and the hoped for contentment this brings. Many of us, myself included, depend on having constant stimuli. This, of course, can be a big impediment to enlightenment and the simple life, but basically,  I think only a very few precepts are simple. Yet it’s those that really hold the key to happiness, or, one might even call it enlightenment.

If the Internet is the tool that enables me to discover more of  the vital spiritual truths I seek, then it becomes as necessary to life as air and water.  This is not something I say lightly.  For me the Internet, with all its perils, promise and benefits, has helped me transcend what might have been a very lonely life.

Log in to write a note
January 16, 2022

It is the same with me.  I lived a very solitary life before having the internet.

January 19, 2022

@catholicchristian There are definitely pros and cons to the solitary life.  The solitary life is detrimental when it becomes a lonely life.  These are crucial distinctions.  The Internet has enabled us solitaries to avoid going off into the lonely voids of life.

January 16, 2022

The internet fills that function for me too.  The pandemic, having given up my car, my limited finances — all make me pretty much a stay-at-home.  And much as I hate it, that’s life for me.  I’d be bored silly without it.  But the house probably would be cleaner …

January 19, 2022

@ghostdancer I actually enjoy the stay-at-home life, thanks to he Internet, a constant, and often overwhelming and time-sucking, but addictive and fulfilling, construct of technological genius that has profoundly altered all our lives.

January 19, 2022

@oswego 💗

January 17, 2022

The fact that we can download books, movies, music, etc., has been wonderful. You can find the answer to almost anything. I’m also virtual “pen-pals” with so many people through social media. I’ve been able to find like-minded people who validate my thinking and that, in and or itself, has almost been life-saving.

January 17, 2022

@solovoice So true!   I resonate with like-minded people, but I also enjoy debate with not-so-likeminded folks who are civil and intelligent and also well-informed, even if they might wander off into those gray areas of misinformation! 🤔🥺

January 17, 2022

@oswego I used to enjoy those types of debates, but the discouraging trend is that it’s hard to find civility anymore. Those who are intelligent and well-informed have ventured over “our” side. The Republican party now seems only to consist of the most radical, ill-formed people and so many former “conservative” well-known Republicans have abandoned the party. I’m hopeful that Republican voters are losing interest in Trump and are finding his rhetoric as tiring as we do.

January 20, 2022

I find it amusing that this entry is the exact opposite of mine I wrote today. As someone who initially grew up without it and became saved by the internet when I had friends for the first time and learned many things such as the life and abuse I experienced was not normal and that there was so so much more than the small peephole view of the world that I had, I definitely needed this reminder of the value the internet does hold. I hope I can learn to balance it’s place in my life someday.

January 20, 2022

The internet has flaws, but I have learned quantum mechanics from Sean Carrol, and been  privvy to the conversations of McKenna and Tutu.  I have met people whom I never wold have, and I have had thoughts tat would not have existed were it not for the amazing pace of discovery available through th virtual networks