Pies are the best

In these dark times of bad news and fears for the future of democracy and humanity, it’s time once again to dwell on something that makes me happy. And it’s a very simple thing that I’m sure brings back pleasant memories for everyone: a delicious, home-baked pie right out of the oven.

Okay, for those of us who don’t bake or cook, there’s always the old-fashioned frozen and dense Southern biscuits we can pop in the oven, or the Edwards banana cream and other tempting store-bought pies in the frozen foods or bakery/deli sections of the supermarket, be they traditional blueberry or apple or seasonal pumpkin and pecan pies. I love them all, and they’re usually mighty good.

I will always remember Mom’s mouth-watering and so delicious pies she made from scratch, including golden, flaky crusts with Crisco shortening. Next to pie crusts made with lard back grandmother’s day, there was nothing better. And my mother had mastered the art. She was a very excellent cook to begin with, and her apple pie could win any contest at a state or county fair. But we lived in the big city and regrettably, I never knew about fair util I was much older.

I loved Mom’s apple pie with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but it was her luscious strawberry pies that outdid everything else. She used the freshest Louisiana strawberries when in season, and a very nice filling topped with real whipped cream. No Cool-Whip, etc. although Cool-Whip is very good and a convincing substitute. I can vividly remember to this day savoring that pie and wishing I could have more than one slice. My sister has continued this family pie-making tradition.

Next to Mom’s strawberry pie, I think my favorite was the huge slice of banana cream pie I would order after a huge meal of turkey and dressing, mashed potatoes and gravy, and peas at a restaurant in downtown Edmonds, Washington 30 years ago when I lived there briefly. It was extraordinary pie with at least an inch wnd a half of real whipped cream on top of each slice. Truly satisfying and fattening, To me it was indescribably delicious. As you can probably tell, I also love old-fashioned banana pudding.

When I was in high school in New Orleans there was a corner grocery store and a take out sandwich shop called Clement’s nearby selling those famous and unique New Orleans fried oyster and roast beef Po Boys. All the seniors who refused to eat school lunches in the cafeteria would head over to those two places around noon every day. As far as I know they were allowed to do this. I also ventured over there a few times, specifically to buy another New Orleans favorite, Hubig’s small, individually wrapped fried or baked pies. They were 15 cents back then. Apple and lemon wer my favorites. Years ago, correct me if I’m wrong, but small one-serving fried pies with glaze on them were very common at most convenience stores. I don’t think they even sell them anymore, but they were very good.

Since I no longer have access to those small Hubig baked pies I used to love so much, I’ve taken to buying little apple, blueberry, peach and cherry baked pies in tiny boxes for 50 cents whenever I’m at Wal-Mart. I do like their bakery. My younger siblings excoriate me for buying this “junk food,” but I just roll my eyes as I’m eating one with a cup of coffee at 10 o’clock at night.

Another favorite is cherry pie, and the best I ever had came from cherries I picked with some friends from a large cherry tree on their property when I visited them in the north Georgia mountains many years ago. Yes, we even used ladders to reach the highest and possibly sweetest cherries. Mostly I remember how fresh and tart they were.

Finally, I can’t conclude this tale of pies without mentioning and linking to an article last Fall in the very fine magazine, “Our State: Celebrating North Carolina.” Their November cover story featured pies fom 11 bakeries and restaurants across the state, from the mountains to the sea. Naturally I saved that issue, and am now gazing longingly at the pies in the pages of that magazine as I write this. In fact it was one of the inspirations for this entry.

If you were doing a survey and the question was “Pie or cake?” Which would you choose? I love all kinds of cake, but for me pie will always be in first place.

The sweetest slices

https://flic.kr/p/2mYfxY6

Pie Towns

https://flic.kr/p/2mY6XaM

My mini-pie stash

https://flic.kr/p/2mY6Xaw

Link to the article “Pie Towns”

https://www.ourstate.com/pie-towns-11-places-to-get-the-sweetest-slices-of-the-season/

Log in to write a note
January 20, 2022

I grew up in Independence, and my favorite date spot was a plce called Tippins; best pies I ever ate.  More than one eventful evening I am convinced was due to their chocolate bottom pie, not my stunning wit.

This i a great reflection.  Thank you for sharing!

January 20, 2022

@cygnusx-1 Thank you!  I really had fun writing this.  Personal memory pieces posted here always resonate with readers, and I’m happy to stir up good memories.

Your comment about chocolate pie made me realize what an omisson I made in this piece by not mentioning my love of chocolate cream pie.  I don’t know how I left that out.

The diary circle you mention sounds really good.  I will check it out.

January 20, 2022

PS there is a diary circle called ‘things that make me happy’ for which this entry wold be perfect, if you feel like sharing with them.

It is a nice place to go that quicikly gives me things to think about that make others happy , ergo it makes other pieces of us happy, ergo it makes us happy.

January 20, 2022

Key lime pie on a cold winter day always takes me away to a warmer place.

January 20, 2022

I also like the Walmart pies, specifically, the pecan pie. 390 calories, though, so I don’t have it often!

January 20, 2022

My mom made the best pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving

January 20, 2022

Sandwiches!  On thanks for bringing that memory back to me!  Fried oyster sandwiches are THE best!  We used to get them & go sit on the levee & watch the ships go by while we ate them.  Do they have sandwiches any place else besides NAwlins?  And what I wouldn’t give to have one of those for lunch today!

You mom’s strawberry pie sounds delicious!  Blackberry pie is my favorite, but then blackberry anything is my favorite.😄  I think I’ choose pie over cake also.

January 20, 2022

I like to buy those mini-pies I always get lemon. I like pies more than cake, too. Cake just doesn’t do it for me.

January 25, 2022

@startingover_1 I buy the little mini pies too and heat them up in the microwave 🙂

January 25, 2022

Now I am really, really, really hungry for some hot pie straight out of the oven with some ice cream.