Why Do Guys Say Stuff Like This?

Why would a guy, on this phone with his girlfriend, make the observation that his neighbor’s sister is hot?  What is the purpose behind a comment like that? 

I could’ve sworn he said that he wasn’t one for talking just for the sake of talking so…what’s the intent of that comment?  What’s the motive?

I went to see Magic Mike with a friend and what was I doing during the entire movie?  Texting my boyfriend about how the movie was lame and how I thought he was better looking. 

I’m not really a jealous person to be honest, but I treat a guy that I’m with as if he were, whether he is or not.  I make sure he has no reason to be jealous, just in case.  It would be nice to have someone that treated me with the same consideration.  Just in case, ya know?  It’s not even about the jealousy.  It’s about respect for your partner’s feelings.

I don’t know.  I’m sure I’m over-analyzing again, but I’m just not one to settle because reality and society says "this is what’s to be expected."  I expect what I expect regardless of possibility or other people’s standards.  And, unfortunately, I expect to be treated like I’m the only girl in the world.  I expect nothing that I’m not willing to give.

Log in to write a note
July 26, 2012

Saw you on recent postings and added you to my friends only diary in case you want to read me. I’m very curious about the notes you get on this entry. I have always wondered why guys say things like this. It is totally disrespectul and hurtful. Personally, I think he is testing the limits like a little boy. Most guys will test the limits. Be clear with him that he better not do it again!

July 26, 2012

I don’t know why a guy would tell his girlfriend how hot another woman is, but I think the real question is why does the girlfriend allow it? I think too many women get upset (and rightfully so) but they just blow it off. And if they do say anything about it, they usually won’t leave if it keeps happening.

July 26, 2012

Very ungentlemanly, cruel, and senseless. What is the purpose? I can’t think of a good one. Maybe he needs to display his stupidity?

July 26, 2012

Honest answer having said similar things at random times myself; simple sharing. I almost certainly like to share too much with my SO. =P But I frame it when I do say things like that; either say something negative about them or positive about her. Or maybe make it clear that it’s about sharing tastes and I’m trying to feel out her taste in men. But as a rule I don’t say anything. ;x

July 26, 2012

I had an ex do that multiple times. When I explained to him that I thought it was desrespectful, he disregarded my feelings. Red flag. If you express this to your boyfriend, and he doesn’t stop, I would end the relationship. He wasn’t taking me seriously and that wasn’t okay.

July 26, 2012

I think sometimes men forget they’re talking to a girlfriend instead of their buddy, you know? He may not have meant anything by it all all, but I still think it’s disrespectful.

July 26, 2012

IMO just don’t react to it; it in and of itself is not a reason to worry. Tis just honesty. I’d be more worried about a guy who acts like he doesn’t see any other woman, especially the way some of the good looking ones really put themselves out there, because he DOES notice them even if he never intends to act on it. Impossible not to notice, biology forbids it.

July 26, 2012

I dunno, I guess it depends on how you’re viewing the issue; like krystalbear said it can be disrespectful if you view it in that light, but it can be positive if you’re the sort (like myself) who is really comfortable with talking about attractiveness with my partner and I want those channels open. Since you instinctively see it as negative, imo, say something to him and, like krystal said…

July 26, 2012

…drop him if he ignores you because that’s a HUGE red flag. It’s not necessarily a big deal to say she’s cute, maybe he just forgot your emotions or is assuming you’re interested in that, but if you make yourself known and he still ignores, big red flag in at least 3 ways I can think of. Most likely everythings ok though. =]

July 27, 2012

Completely reasonable to expect such behaviour on your part. Especially since he should know you by now? Man, it must be hard being a woman at times 😉 (not to say it isn’t hard being a man at times too, but…)

July 29, 2012

It is a bit insensitive, some things are better only thought rather than said! You should be the only girl in his world 🙂 x x

August 22, 2012

I completely understand!

July 15, 2013

Hurry up and get back to OD. I wanna say stuff to you (not that, however)