A Brief Update

This afternoon my brother-in-law finally accepted the fact that my sister needs to be in hospice care rather than having people coming to the house. An ambulance will come to get her on Thursday morning and he will ride with her. Toby {my nephew} and I  will go over later in the evening to visit her and bring him back with us.

This big decision was precipitated by the fact that BIL went to his doctor today and found that he is not doing so well. His doctor told him he had to get relief from the stress. Then the hospice woman came round to say there was a bed. The final thing that made him accept this was that she said she wanted to go. She can see what looking after her is doing to him. He gets less than 4 hours of sleep a night and his blood pressure has also risen dangerously.

The very nice hospice woman suggested that he might want to come home at night for the first few days and get caught up on his sleep but that if he wanted to stay with her at night after that, she would see that there was a bed for him.  Both their children feel this is best for both their parents.

I think it is best too but after I said that when he asked me for my thoughts, I felt such a pang of loss that I could hardly bear it..

Log in to write a note
July 18, 2005

If she is agreeing to go then it is what is best. She could be like this for a while and it just makes sense at this point to do it. If she feels better maybe she can come home for a couple of days. Things have a way of working out. As long as she has agreed it makes it that much better. God Bless.

July 18, 2005

Hospice is the best. I am a hospice nurse, and I would want good hospice care for anyone I love. I am sorry that is a decision that had to be made. Stay strong.

July 18, 2005

I’m sorry Patricia… this is terrible. I’m glad though that you get to spend some time with her….

July 18, 2005

I just heard yesterday that a friend of mine is going to hospice. Yes we know it is the best for them and their families but it seems so final–and we know it IS final–so it’s hard. It sounds like you are a help to your brother in law during this hard time.

July 18, 2005

Ohhhhhh, I’m so sorry! I know how hard this has to be…You are all in my prayers. Maybe it will be easier once it’s done… Hang in there. Robbie couldn’t ask for a better sister!!!!! Love to you! ~M

July 18, 2005

Oh, my friend – I can imagine how you felt – I feel it now, putting myself in your shoes – however…there must be a little relief there, too? She wants this – Hospice is an AMAZING thing/place… Prayers for you & Sis & Fam, Hugs,

July 18, 2005

Hospice can provide a nice peaceful transition place. It seems to please your sister that her husband will not have to be so burdened that when she departs, he will suffer bad health in addition to grief. That HER mind and heart are at ease is what is most important. I know the feeling of sorrow that they are slowly leaving, though…. hugs, Weesprite

July 18, 2005

I’m glad y’all were able to work through to the decision. Blessings.

July 18, 2005

Even though a hospice provides the most caring environment, it’s so difficult because it’s so … *final.* I’m sorry that it hurts so much, knowing how close you are to your sister. (((Hugs)))

July 18, 2005

I’m sorry. {{{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}}}

This is so sad, I’m sorry. *hugs*

July 18, 2005

*huggs* I am sorry

Shi
July 18, 2005

Oh dear, so hard for all of you. I will hold you all in my thoughts.

July 18, 2005
July 18, 2005

Your sister would probably be much more comfortable there & also easier in her mind knowing it takes some of the strain off your BIL & yourself & the kids. Still a hard decision though & a coming to terms of the next stage I suppose. Take care,

Bless your heart Patrisha. I send my prayers to you and those you love.

July 18, 2005

(((hugs)))

July 18, 2005

I know that pang of loss — like a knife twisting heart and soul. I am sorry.

July 18, 2005

You have been a godsend to him,and probably to her;being there makes all the difference in allowing them the relief to make such decisions,knowing you support them.Bless your family and keep them comfortable and content,whatever comes.

July 18, 2005
July 18, 2005

I’m so sorry. I will be thinking of you!!! Be safe!! Josh

July 18, 2005
July 19, 2005

I’m glad he’s agreed to the hospice… and especially glad that he can stay there with her as much as he wants to. (gentle huggles)

July 20, 2005

Oh Patricia… I am so sorry… I’m glad that Hospice is there for your family,,, but so sorry you have to use it.

July 22, 2005

It will be best. Hugs and even more hugs. Only wish I could reach through the internet to put my arms around you and really hug. Love, r