England 3 Edited

EDIT: yes, I messed up the step count reading  it is correct now

If you want to see an picture of the area where my sister and brother-in-law live, go back one entry.

Yesterday was not a good day. My sister slept most of the day and when she opened her eyes she wasn’t really there. She was very restless and was plucking at the bedclothes and trying to move herself all over the bed. This morning her husband says she seems to be a little better. She has eaten breakfast and apparently was alert for a while but when I looked in, she was sleeping again. However, she is not restless and it looks more like normal sleep.

My BIL is off to the doctor himself this afternoon and I will sit with my sister.  There is a nurse coming in this morning to take a urine sample {she has a catheter} and a caregiver to wash and settle her. She is getting good care.

My BIL brought up the hospice in a conversation with me this morning. Her children think that is where she should be because the strain on their father is enormous. He has been adamantly against sending her there but apparently he may be changing his mind because he told me how good the hospice is and that he could sleep there if he wanted to. But he hasn’t agreed yet…

 

 

Number of Steps on the pedometer for yesterday: 5910

Log in to write a note

It’s a sad thing to see your sister that weak and restless, isn’t it Patricia. I’m sorry. Perhaps it is time for hospice. Good for you on the steps!

July 18, 2005

My father had hospice care…it was a blessing for my mom. It is a very difficult decision, as it tends to make some feel like they’re “giving up.” You all will be in my prayers and thoughts.

Hospice care…it can be such a hard thing to accept for some, but I’ve always heard such wonderful, positive things about that kind of care. *hugs* More than 59,000 steps? Wow!!

July 18, 2005

perhaps it is time for hospice. my mil was in one and it was a wonderful place for her. i’m so sorry that it’s come to a place of thinking this for your sister. hope she has more good days while you are there with her. take care,

July 18, 2005

*huggs* my prayers and thoughts are with you and your family. Sommerset is very beautiful.

July 18, 2005

59 THOUSAND steps? Wow — I’m definitely impressed. Wait a minute… that would be about 30 miles. Could it be a typo? I hope your BIL will be able to make the best decision for your sister. ((Hugs))

July 18, 2005

I am sure your sister appreciates your companionship, and it is a comfort to her.

July 18, 2005

You have one too many digits, dear JP, in your step count….. Huh?

Patrisha is walkin’!!!!! I’m sorry about your sister….sorry for you and for your BIL. It’s always so tough on the one’s we love…try and have a good time if possible 🙂

July 18, 2005

Such a step by step situation… I’m glad you’re there.

July 18, 2005

Is this the part of England where you grew up? I think you’ve told us, but I can’t remember, I’m sorry.

July 18, 2005

My SIL kept my brother at home until the last minute but it took a great toll on her. I think they both would have been better off with hospice.

July 18, 2005

I, too, have always heard SUCH great things about hospice care, and a good friend actually had hospice come into his home to be with his father when his father was gravely ill. HUGS, Patricia – Hugs.

Shi
July 18, 2005

I’m so sorry your sister isn’t better for your visit, but perhaps it’s good you are there for your brother in law.

July 18, 2005

I’m really sorry to hear about your sister…I hope it all works out and that she gets the best care possible!!! I hope you are having a great time, and I loved the picture on your last entry!!! 🙂 Have a good one!!! Josh

July 18, 2005

We had hospice for my dad, but he stayed home and nurses visited. This is a hard time for all of you, I’m sure.

July 18, 2005

I think Hospice, done well, is one of life’s greatest blessings. Today I am sending you thoughts of strength and courage.

July 18, 2005

It is good that there is lots of family there, but what a toll this takes. I’m glad that he is now considering hospice care, and you are a blessing to be there to help him.

July 18, 2005

A difficult decision to make, I will think of you and hope for the best.

July 18, 2005

Oh Patricia, I’m sorry, for some reason I didn’t realize your sister was so sick. {{{{{{HUGS}}}}}

It’s such a hard decision to make, I hope your BIL is ok with it as it sounds like he has been going non stop. There are some wonderful hospices and staff. Take care,

July 22, 2005

My father died in a hospice and they were fantastic. They let me bring my dogs in to see my dad and he petted them and they licked his hand. They make it as normal as possible without the strain on the remaining loved ones. Hugs. r