England 4

This morning I listed all my brother-in-law’s drugs and all my sister’s drugs at his request. I typed them into the computer and made three large-print copies for various places around the house. Then I also made him wallet-sized copies . Fred and I have found this very useful. When one gets to the doctor and is asked what medications are being taken, I don’t know about you, but my mind goes perfectly blank… The other good thing about having them in the computer is that it is very easy to erase and/or add drugs. I made these lists and put them in a folder on the desk top. Now all Toby has to do is click on the folder and then click on whatever one needs to be changed. Oh, and I also put their new printer as the default printer so no one has to click around to get to it.

Robbie seems to be comfortable today. She was awake when I asked her about the printer and seemed pleased when I was able to change the default. I looked in about an hour ago and she was sleeping but not thrashing around. The home help lady was in earlier and asked for my help in lifting her to a sitting position and together we were able to make her more comfortable. She is not eating much but she is eating.

I have been for one walk today and will go for another after lunch.

 

 

Number of Steps on the pedometer for yesterday: 9162

Yes, I knew I was very close to the magic number when I got back from my second walk, and I was too tired to care…

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 19, 2005

That is very helpful of you to do that. 🙂

July 19, 2005

I bet England is just gorgeous. I am dying to go one day!

July 19, 2005

It’s so nice that you were able to do something very concrete and helpful! I know what a good feeling that gives. It’s so good to hear, again, that your sister is comfortable. hugs, Weesprite

July 19, 2005

it’s too hot and humid to go for walks here. tomorrow will just be hot..the humidity will be less. i’m glad you are able to spend some time with your sister. i’m sure it’s doing her a lot of good to see you, too. take care,

July 19, 2005

I’m glad you are finding things that you enjoy and that are helpful to your family. *HUGS*

July 19, 2005

It’s good that you can do these things for them 🙂

July 19, 2005

You are VERY thoughtful – that’s exactly what my mother does with her medications, and her doctors & nurses are always SO pleased when she hands them a nice, clear list! 🙂

July 19, 2005

(huggles)

July 19, 2005

I’m so glad that you are able to help them out. I wish I could visit England…it’s so beautiful!!! Have a good one!!! Josh

July 19, 2005
July 19, 2005
July 19, 2005

I know this is very difficult for you too but I’m sure it is a great comfort for your sister and brother-in-law to have you there. Bless you for doing this for them.

Shi
July 19, 2005

It’s so lovely that you can do stuff to help them.

July 19, 2005
July 19, 2005

I feel like such a dunce — I handprinted our medicine lists. Argh! Patricia, I’m glad you were able to help make your sister comfortable and I’m sure you’re being there is a comfort in itself. Way to go on walking. I hereby award you the bonus points to make it to 10,000, because you were so darned close.

July 19, 2005

You are a good person. And compassionate.

July 19, 2005

Your presence must really be a blessing to them…it sure sounds like it to me!

July 19, 2005

*huggs*

July 19, 2005

It’s great to be able to do something practical at times like these isn’t it?

July 19, 2005

I have the same. I have all my meds, allergies, and even surgeries and other stuff listed. My mind goes blank too.

Hospice is good, on many levels. However difficult this trip, it is good also. Blessings.