A Day of Complete Rest

Today was a very odd day. I woke up at 6 AM and had breakfast, Then I went back to bed. When I woke up again it was nearly 10 AM and all I wanted to do was to stay in bed in my pajamas and read. So, I did that. Eventually, around noon, I got up had some lunch.

Next I got dressed. This was obviously a Good Thing since an Orkin man came to my door to see about the mouse. {Since I now have a land line, I had called the office and told them I had a mouse, another mouse.} He told me he was going to go to the office and tell them that there was another hole at the back of the oven drawer and they needed to put more steel wool in it. Then, since I had told him there were mouse turds on the counter area by the toaster, he put one of those sticky pads out there. I don’t like those things… I really hope I am not expected to deal with any mice it catches.

So, then I went back to lie on the bed and read. I stayed there and read for about three hours. No boxes got opened. No stuff got put away. When I got hungry I got up and made some polenta and some Anduille sausage. I don’t know why I am on this polenta kick, but it is good stuff. Oddly enough, I don’t like cornbread. It is the texture that makes me want to gag and since polenta is ground much finer I can appreciate the taste. One of these days, I am going to make extra and fry it.

Anyway, since I had no urge to get anything done, I continued with my reading, I was actually getting a bit worried about myself and thinking that this was Depression *{note the capital letter} coming back, but gradually I was beginning to feel a bit more like myself. I have, for example, got plans to go buy food tomorrow and I have even started a list. Oh, and I went into the kitchen and checked for mice but there was nothing on the sticky strip. But I did load the dishwasher and put away the clean dishes that were in there…

* I was a bit concerned because I had a Kindle paperwhite in a box from Amazon that I got yesterday and I wasn’t the least interested in opening it and setting it up which was another reason I thought I might be heading towards the big "D" again. But once I started to feel a bit more like myself, I opened it and set it up. It is very easy to read in daylight. I will see how it is tonight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

Sometimes we just need a day of rest. Maybe that’s all it is. I’m loving my Paperwhite…hope you like yours too! Take care of you…

I will e interested in your review of the paperwhite. As my eyesight gets worse, my desire to read increases, as though I must read everything now.

April 4, 2013

Been there, done that.

Sometimes, you just need what I call a “Lazy” day…you stay in your pajamas and just veg all day. I really think it recharges your batteries, so to speak.

April 4, 2013

Some days you just need some R&R. Good for you.

April 4, 2013

A day of rest is a hard thing to come by, so I am very glad you got one and took full advantage of it! :o) !! Oooh, I don’t like those sticky glue traps! They just stick to the poor little mouse’s feet but then someone has to actually kill him! :oO !! I hope you don’t have to deal with that!! hugs, Nicky

BJ.
April 6, 2013

Glad you got the rest you needed. I have never heard of polenta but being from the south it is hard for me to believe that anyone doesn’t like cornbread. We make a pan of it and just eat corn beard. LOL I had always stayed in my pj’s for several hours after I got up. When I moved into an apartment after moving to a new city 2 yrs after my husband died I learned to get out of bed and get dressed b/c someone was coming to work on something all the time and I got tired of being caught in my robe. I lived in that apartment for 7 yrs before buying a house. I’m still in a house and I still get dressed immediately after getting out of bed.