Fun with a Visa Card

Well, finally my debit card for my new bank account arrived and it had across it a sticker with a message that it would need to be activated and a phone number to do this. Since I now have a telephone, I decided to do this this morning.  So I called the number.

Eventually the robot voice told me to enter the number on the card. This gave me a little problem since I had to keep moving the card to catch the light to differentiate between a 1 and a 7. But I did this. Then came the first problem. The robot voice asked for the number of the bank account. Which I couldn’t give her because it was in my wallet. End phone call.

Begin the whole thing again. Put in the number of the card followed by the account number. Then the robot voice asked for my social security number. Now, unlike so many people, I do NOT have this number memorized. There are enough numbers I HAVE to memorize that I don’t see any point in memorizing one I am seldom a called to give. So, I put the phone down and went to my purse , in another room, of course, to get the SS card. And, of course, when I got back, of course I had been disconnected.

Start the procedure again. Call the number–done.  Put in the card number–done. Put in the account number–done. Put in my Social Security number– done! Was I done at last? No! "Please listen to this important message" the robot voice said. Ok, what now! A message to tell me I would not be able to use my card until one business day had passed.  Fortunately, I have some cash in my purse! So, finally, DONE! Whew!! At certain points in this annoying procedure, I DID have the option to talk to a Real Person but by the time I had found my account number my attitude was that I was not going to let this robot voice intimidate me!

Now for the rest of the day: Goals

  • Call the office here to report the return of the mouse.
  • Call the ophthalmologist to get a new appointment.
  • Call the doctors office to get the name and phone number of the urologist to make an appointment. {I actually have it in voice mail  on my still-dead cell phone but since i can’t access it…. }
  • Continue work on the piles of "stuff." Being more specific, get all the paraphernalia out of the book case in the hall and put this where it belongs which is on the shelves at the side of my desk. Fill thus emptied bookshelves with cook books!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 2, 2013

Well, one thing’s certain–your life certainly isn’t boring. It’s one darn thing after another! LOL!

April 2, 2013

I went through an activation for VISA that was quite similar to this. Eventually I wrote everything down on a piece of paper and finally made it through the process. It takes quite awhile to get everything changed over, doesn’t it? Hopefully your phone will make things a lot easier.

April 3, 2013
April 3, 2013

Yay you for defeating the robotic phone message… I HATE wrestling with Walgreens automatic system when I’m trying to get my prescriptions taken care of. (huggles)

April 3, 2013

I hate, hate, hate doing anything over the phone, if it can’t be done online, I don’t do it unless I absolutely have to!!

April 4, 2013

Well at least it arrived! That’s sayin’ something in its favor anyway! ;o) !! hugs, Nicky