A Lazy Day

Last night we went to a barbecue at our neighbors. It was enjoyable and I had my first beer in about four years! The kids were riding their bikes and jumping off a home-made ramp and when one or two of the male guests had a little too much beer, they were lying on the grass at the end of the ramp and having the kids on their bikes jump over them! This morning when I went out for a walk, I stopped and spoke to Martha and she said that later on in the evening, some of the guests got very rowdy. We didn’t hear anything because we had the air conditioners on!

Basically, today I have walked half a mile and lazed away the rest of the day! The walking is slowly becoming a little less exhausting. Today I didn’t take a nap. I hope I sleep all through the night. I seem to be forming the habit of sleeping from 11-ish until 2 or 3, then, after staying up a few hours, I go back to bed and sleep a few more hours. This is not a habit I want to encourage so I hope not napping today will help.

I am noticing lately that I have very little or no back pain most of the time. The physical therapist said she thought I was having pain because the pain in my hip before the surgery was causing me to use my back muscles to do things that my leg muscles should be doing. So, I am taking it as a good sign that the back pain has almost gone…

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Create yours at BlingyBlob.com!

Log in to write a note
August 12, 2007

I’m sure it’s a very good sign that your back doesn’t hurt any more! (huggles)

August 12, 2007

Wow that no back pain thing is a great sign, as well as the reduced fatigue after walking. Well done!

August 12, 2007

I am happy for you that your pain is easing…and that you are able to walk… I have a similar sleep pattern on many nights…I would prefer to sleep through the night… Did you know that your front page appears on You Tube? If you type in “Open Diary” you will come to a video that someone made of his or her OD favorites…they just flash for a quick second,but yours is one of them…

I would have hurt if one of those bikes landed on them! Beer is good but glad you left before the rowdy part started 🙂

August 12, 2007
August 12, 2007

It won’t be long until you go away, so it’s good that the back pain has gone!

August 13, 2007

My sleeping habits are just like yours, except that I start my sleep around 9:30 instead of 11! I’m glad you and Fred had fun at the BBQ. I don’t think any amount of beer would convince me that allowing kids to jump over me on their bicycles was a good idea! hugs, Weesprite

August 13, 2007

good thing your back pain is going away. glad you got out for a walk yesterday. soon you’ll be walking a mile like your doctor wants! i haven’t had a beer in years, either. just don’t like the taste anymore. can you imagine the pain if one of those bikes landed on those drunk men? take care,

Glad that your back pain has gone away!!! Wow! I just noticed your ticker! It won’t be long until you will be under a month!!!! Hugs, M

My goodness, had the bike and kid fallen on him he would have had a whopper hangover the next day.

August 13, 2007

I’m still very pleased that you are recovering so well Patrisha, and you still have a month to go! ryn: Yes, it would be fun if we could scoop the stars out of the sky and save them for later. Thank you for your support. : )

Yeah on less back pain! I cracked up about the children jumping over them on their bikes. Time for someone to suggest a trip home. LOL!

Gotta love a good party!

wow! you are already walking half a mile!!!! Excellent!

August 17, 2007