A List*

  • I slept well last night, too. I also drank the sleepytime tea! I am not as yet saying these two events are connected because two nights is not enough evidence but I will keep on with the tea drinking. I notice the brand I am using has valerian added. I took valerian by itself a few years ago and it did work for me. However, I stopped taking it because it tasted and smelled disgusting!  The smell would make me gag. I can neither smell nor taste it in this tea.
  • My fingernails are painted bright glittery gold! I am, as yet, not brave enough to wear this out in public but that is what I am aiming for. Eventually…
  • Went to the book group meeting today. It was OK. I have to go next month because the book is my choice so I have to run the meeting. Next month we are reading The Borrowers by Mary Norton. I chose it because at the time we were choosing titles, I had just put it on my Kindle and I was amazed that not one of the group had read it as a child. Yes, it is a children’s book and I loved it when I read it as a child. It wasn’t quit as fascinating as when I reread it but I did enjoy it.
  • The weather forecast is warning us of high winds Monday and Tuesday. I will go out tomorrow morning and stack my chairs on the deck where I hope the wind won’t throw them all over the yard.
  • My "cooking for myself" activity last night was to make a 9 inch pizza for myself. Well, the crust was actually dough made in the bread machine but it turned out very well. I only used half of it for the pizza and I am planning to make focaccio bread with the rest. I put cheese {of course}, some fresh mushrooms, half a big tomato cut up into small pieces and then more cheese on the pizza. This evening I gave into the urge for sweet stuff and made a couple of jam sandwiches for my evening meal. This is one of the many things one can do when single!

What I am listening to:

 Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers)

“As I look back on my life, I realize that every time I thought I was being rejected from something good, I was actually being re-directed to something better.” -Steve Maraboli

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
October 27, 2012

A very pleasant entry! Your menu’s sound delightful. I still enjoy re-reading books from my childhood – Anne of Green Gables, the Whiteoaks of Jalna, and Waterbabies are among my favorites.

October 27, 2012

I loved The Borrowers. I tried Valerian Root capsules when I was going through emotional problems several years ago. I thought they smelled like dirty diapers. UGH! I did manage to get one past my nose and down my throat every night. It did help me sleep. I like 5-HTP better, though.

October 27, 2012

I loved The Borrowers! The film stood up pretty well too.

October 27, 2012

I enjoy PB&J once in awhile. Just the right amount of sweet and salty. Stay safe in that wind!

October 27, 2012

Fun color for your fingernails! I hope you do wear them out in public!

October 28, 2012

my husband drinks Sleeyptime Tea as he has sleeping problems and it works for him. I can’t stand the smell, even BEFORE it is brewed up! My SIL makes pizza all the time using the bread machine. He made some for us on vacation and it rivaled our favorite pizza shop! Stay safe for the storm!

October 28, 2012

I’ve taken valerian in capsules sometimes when I’ve been unable to sleep. I don’t remember them smelling in that form.

October 28, 2012

mmmm….ya know, I have never made homemade pizza. I should try it! And I never read “The Borrowers” either. I should read it! I remember with so much fondness many of the books I read and re-read while growing up; a number of them would be great for an adult book group to read! hugs, Nicky

Do you drink Celestial Seasonings Sleepy Time? I drink the CS Tension Tamer. I always refer to it as TT. Not sure what ingredient it has in it but once I go to bed I sleep like a rock. It does a number on me. I sleep well.

October 28, 2012

I have gold nail polish on my toenails. I really like it.