A More Cheerful Entry EDIT

 

Yesterday Toby walked with me up to the local post office so this morning I went up there myself to see if I could remember where it was. Usually I have no problem going somewhere the second time when I have walked there one time but on the trip with Toby I was talking {and listening} all the way and I didn’t deliberately make notes of landmarks. However, I was pleased to find that I did remember enough to get there successfully. I had noted a garden that was excessive in the use of hanging plants and when I stopped unsure of where to go, I saw this garden to my right and so knew where to turn.  So, all I have to do now is to see if I brought my younger son’s address with me and wrap the dragon glass and walk back to the post office! {I have a HUGE jar of Marmite for my older son which I will give him when I go to see him later this year.}

I sent email to my sister’s provider because there is something wrong with her email. When Fred wrote to me at this email address, I got nothing. Fortunately he sent it to my usual email address too and I was able to access this online with no problem. However, his mail and a test mail I sent disappear into the ether with no comment. Oddly enough, the email the provider sent saying my email has been received came through beautifully! I hope they get it fixed before  I go because Victor said he wants to be able to email me… Something to do with the setup, perhaps? Maybe it is being sent out with the return address mispelled? Hmm, that wouldn’t surprise me since my sister has a problem with spelling… Ok, I don’t know Outlook Express very well since I prefer Pegasus or Eudora, but I can poke around in it to see what her settings are…

EDIT: OOOOOPS! I found the error and it was mine!

About three years ago, I set up at my sister’s request some folders and some mail rules which made certain email addresses like mine and Fred’s pop into a folder called Patricia and Fred.  Now, the confusion was that this folder was  not shown on the front page of Outlook Express and, to be honest, I had totally forgotten about this folder. Today I went poking around in the guts of the program and there was that rule and the folder.

Ok, problem solved. I sent email to the provider explaining that it was a mea culpa and then deleted the email rule so that all emails come straight into the Inbox. Much easier.

Log in to write a note
July 25, 2005

Hooray on finding the post office without getting lost. LOL @ the email thing… sometimes we just outsmart ourselves.

July 25, 2005

Good for you for getting the mail staightened out on both counts. Patrisha – we are all honored that you share the information about your sister and her family. And your feelings, thank you. Death is such a hard thing to talk about – and you’re helping all of us who have and who will have deaths to deal with.

I, too, find my way around by landmarks LOL! I’m sure Jake will love the glass…I know my Jake would. 🙂

July 25, 2005

You have a lot of smarts for technology. Lots of people would give up but you stick things through. Don’t feel compelled to be positive for our benefit. It is wonderful to see your strength of spirit as you struggle this difficult time.

July 25, 2005
July 25, 2005
July 25, 2005

take care,

Shi
July 25, 2005

So wonderful that you got it all fixed. 🙂

July 25, 2005

Heh, heh, way ta go, pard…

July 25, 2005
July 25, 2005

that’s a good way to remember where to turn

July 25, 2005
July 25, 2005

RYN: Nope! During the dye process, once the water runs clear the yarn is then colorfast. Viola! No bleeding yarn! 🙂 Be well,

July 26, 2005

ryn: I fixed it 🙂 Thanks for the heads up 🙂 I’m surprised that you were the first to catch it.