Sunday Evening

I was stiff and sore this morning but I did go for a short walk. This afternoon I asked Toby if the post office was within walking distance. He said, " Just at the top of the road!" and proceeded to walk me up and down more hills!

We went to the hospice to pick Victor up and Robbie has had a calm day. She has been given something to keep her calm and she has slept most of the day.Victor said the hospice nurses and workers are in and out all afternoon checking on her.She has lost a lot of weight . The hospice is St. Margaret’s probably after St. Margaret of Cortena {1247-1297} who established an order of nuns to look after the sick and dying.

We went to a local pub and had a very nice meal. I am full and am forcing myself to stay up until 10 pm. {One more hour to go!} I haven’t looked at the pedometer and won’t until I go to bed but I know it is not 12000 steps. However, although I did very little today, I am as tired as if I have worked all day.

Robbie’s body is still breathing but she has gone. She opens her eyes but doesn’t see us.

I am ready to go home. My ticket is for next Sunday, a week from today.

 

Number of Steps on the pedometer for yesterday: 12644

Yes, I know I wrote it down yesterday but I am proud of it!

Log in to write a note
July 24, 2005

I’m sorry. {{{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}

July 24, 2005

I am so glad things are peaceful for your sister. Oh, when I read of her hospice care, how I wish things had been like this for my Brother. I am thankful that they are this way for her and her loved ones! It is such a blessing. I’m glad, too, that you have had time for some nice walks, etc., while there. hugs, Weesprite

July 24, 2005

I’m very sorry to hear about your sister. I hope you’re doing okay. *hugs*

July 24, 2005

{{{Hugs}}}}…I’m glad you got to say goodbye…. I’m so sorry.

July 24, 2005

Oh, dear Patricia, what a difficult phase in your life… I’m glad Roberta did know you and talk with quietly when you first arrived… and you have told that you had made your goodbyes… I wish you will have another chance to say goodbye again, but I think that is my wishful thinking…,

July 24, 2005

I’m so sorry.

July 24, 2005

It is wonderful that you went, had this time with your sister and her family, and more wonderful still that you will be going home to Fred. You did the right thing, for sure.

July 24, 2005

I’m glad too that you got the chance to say goodbye to her…. (((((hugs)))))))

Dear Patricia, words fail me but your acceptance and directness touch my heart. (((hugs)))

July 24, 2005

Hugs, the end is soon and I believe she knows you are there with her. You should be proud of those steps, and I am going to rival you once I can walk that far. lol Hugs again and lots of love, r

July 24, 2005

i’m so sorry about your sister. it’s a good thing you were able to see her and say goodbye. my prayers are with you and your sister. take care,

July 24, 2005

What a difficult time…I am happy for both of you that she was able to hang on long enough to connect with you again. This must be a terribly difficult time.

July 24, 2005

Oh dear. But you did get some good days at the beginning, and she KNEW that you were there.

July 24, 2005

*hugs*…this has got to be so hard.

July 24, 2005

I imagine that a hospice much be much quieter than a regular hospital. I don’t know how anyone can sleep in a hospital with the bells, beeps, and noise of visitors.

July 24, 2005

I am so very sorry for you and your sister and her family. I can’t imagine what torture this must be, but all of you are in my prayers and thoughts. And you have a right to be very proud of those 12K steps, that’s quite a bit!