Saturday in England

 

Today Toby and I went to town. We had a list but first he wanted to go look for new shoes for him. He managed to do it where there were plenty of places for me to visit, too. But neither of us bought anything.

 

Then he drove back into the town where he lives and we walked and walked and walked up and down hills. We got what was on his list which was mostly food for his father and some Pontefract cakes –a liquorice  candy–for Fred and then we went to the dragon shop. This is a shop that sells crystals and dragons and various things of that sort. I looked at the dragons but I couldn’t find one that I liked. At that moment, along came Toby who had been wandering around the store and found a great gift–a wine glass held up by a dragon! Jake, if you are reading, you are going to love it!

Anyway, because I walked twice this morning and thanks to all the up-hill-and-down-dale perambulations that Toby took me on, I have so far walked 12,644 steps today! A vast improvement over the measily 5522 from yesterday!

After we dropped the bags at home, we went out to the hospice to see Robbie and to pick up Victor. Robbie had pads on the rails of her bed because even though she seemed asleep, she had been  thrashing around and was very restlessand agitated. She was so restless that she was almost out of bed. A doctor was called and Victor gave permission for her to be sedated for the evening. She was quietly asleep when we got there. I think she, the essential Robbie, has actually gone and it is only her body left. The hospice people are so kind. One of them saw us leaving and ran out, put her arm around Victor and asked him was he all right. Well, of course he wasn’t. We {Toby and I} said we would get him home and get some tea for him. As I  write this, he is dozing on the couch….

 

 Number of Steps on the pedometer for yesterday: 5522

Log in to write a note
July 23, 2005

Hooray for presents for dear T-Bone 🙂

July 23, 2005

xxx

That goblet sounds fantastic. Keeping you, your sister, and her family in my thoughts.

July 23, 2005

May Robbie sleep in the arms of angels. Prayers for you and yours…

Shi
July 23, 2005

That goblet sounds wonderful.

July 23, 2005

12,644 steps must be a new record for you? Any discomfort as a result? You folks are doing as well as one could hope…Hope the sedative helps Roberta regain herself even for a little while…damn!, it’s tough times. Thinking of you and the others…… Best.

I am reminded that you are there for Victor and Toby too. They are needing your support, as you are needing theirs.

July 23, 2005

One thing is for certain Patricia, your strength is really shining through in your entries. My prayers are with you, your sister and everyone else there. frank

July 23, 2005
July 23, 2005

Oh, my dear – Hugs,

July 23, 2005

I’ll be praying for Robbie and her family and you of course. Its so tragic to read…… and I’m without the right words 🙁

Excellent steps on your pedometer, Patricia! (((hugs)))

July 23, 2005

I bet the inches are coming off with all those hills and dales. The dragon wine glass sounds lovely!

July 23, 2005

Sad…but how much better for her to be in that place than at home or in a regular hospital…I guess it’s my hope that when my “essential self” is gone, as you so rightly put it, my body will go too.

July 23, 2005

My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

July 23, 2005

However, difficult it seems I believe you are right that Robbie is gone; however, they do seem to have a peak of lucidity & clarity about 24 to 48 hours prior to death. My father suddenly sat up & he remembered everyone, they were laughing, joking, he hugged & kissed everyone & then shortly thereafter he died. He waited long enough for me to get down from the North & his sister to return from NY.

July 23, 2005

May Robbie sleep well and in the arms of heaven and my prayers for strengh go out to you and her other loved ones. Hugs and love, r

July 23, 2005

You are in my thoughts and in my prayers.

July 23, 2005
July 24, 2005

I am sorry to hear about your sister’s pain. It is never a easy thing to go through. I hope she can rest more comfortably.

*hugs*