A Question HELP! FINAL EDIT!!!*

Well, I did it But, there was a point where yet one more time it tried to take over!

I got to the point where I was shown individual artists, playlists and genres. I went along happily clicking and the bar at the bottom of the screen filled up to, I thought, show me how much space was left. When I had everything I wanted clicked, I pressed the "go for it" button. It is not called that, but that is what I said! So, the program started filling up the Nano and then stopped and told me I had too many songs clicked–and, here is where it sneakily tried to take over by asking me again would it like the program to choose the songs! I actually said "Hell, no!" before i remembered I was talking to my computer–so I unclicked a few choices from the genre column and all was well!

Now, I must go to reread The Borrowers by Mary Norton so I have some bits to read and questions to ask since it is book group tomorrow and this was my choice!

Actually, I think I have it figured out. {But if any of you leave me a note on how you do it, I would be most grateful]

OK, this is what I have done so far. I clicked on the name of my Nano thus taking me to the screen I was looking for. Then I clicked on restore which cleared every thing off. Now, because I only read instructions AFTER I have played with something {this used to drive Fred mad, BTW} I then clicked on manual and got lots of info along the lines of "If you choose manual you will have to put songs in ALL BY YOURSELF! CAN YOU BE TRUSTED TO DO THIS!!!!" Well, it didn’t actually say this last sentence, you understand, but it felt like this. Ignoring totally that choosing music all by myself was what I WANTED to do, I removed my check mark. So, the Nano then started downloading stuff that was not my choice! Of course, I knew I would like it because, after all, it was my music on my computer, but that isn’t what I wanted to do, dammit!

So, I will let it finish doing this stuffing the Nano with miscellaneous music and then I will start the procedure again. I don’t think I will need to hit Restore again, but I will click on the Manual button and proceed from there.

OK, I have a question.

I have my IPod plugged in to my computer and it is recharging. I want to change all the music on it so how do I go about doing that? {I swear I used to know how to do this…}

HELP!!!

 

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.

– Neale Donald Walsch

 

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Roger

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 16, 2012

If you use to know you know more than I have yet learned. Sorry. I will paying attention to the answers of others so I can learn something new.

November 16, 2012

I fear I’m not too helpful, iTunes makes me crazy… Kristen

November 16, 2012

I’m interested in the answers you will get. Kind of dumb to note this because I am absolutely no help at all.

November 16, 2012

i’m like the others.. have no idea how to help you. not only do i not know how to change the music on an ipod, i don’t even know how to put music on an ipod. i hope you get your answers quickly. take care,

November 16, 2012

you know more than me! take care,

In iTunes, create a playlist and drag the music you want to the playlist. Then, with the nano plugged into the computer, click on the nano in the left column to select it. On the right screen, there will be a music tab. Open the music tab, and choose the sync playlists option, select the playlist you want to sync to the device. That should set it up. Finally, sync the device.

The above method works for my ipod classic and should work similarly for the nano. Good luck!

November 16, 2012

I have an iPod touch. Singer is right as far as I can tell. You have to control everything from the computer iTunes program and then sync it. You can pic which songs you want in your device “library” and which of those songs go into playlists.

November 16, 2012

I hope you found your answers!

November 16, 2012

I do the same type of thing as Singer. I plug the device into my Mac with the special wire (one end is a USB plug and goes into the computer and the other end is the device plug). I click on the iTunes icon located in the icon list at the bottom of my computer screen (you may have your screen configured differently). In iTunes, look under the DEVICES heading which should be in the list on the left hand side of the screen. Click on your device (Nano). A screen should open on the right hand side of the computer screen. There are tabs located at the top of this screen. Click on the MUSIC tab. You will see options for loading music onto your device. If you click on SELECTED PLAYLISTS, ARTISTS, ALBUMS and GENRES….. another set of lists will appear and you can select the music you want Note: In order to create an individual PLAYLIST for your device, you have to do this within iTunes first. (follow Singer’s instructions for doing this) Then you can select that specific playlist using the procedure above.

What a timely entry! I was just considering uploading Christmas music to my iPod and I haven’t done it in so many years that I had forgotten how. I’m glad you got it figured out in the end 🙂

November 16, 2012

No clue, I can’t even figure my phone out and it’s a basic tracfone!

Haven’t used my iPod nano in years. I thought I wanted it. I put a lot of music on it. Then i discovered that I can’t wear earphones or buds and Husband says the speakers interfere with the TV. It’s just been sitting there. I should give it to someone.