A Quick Update*

Today was the day my telephone landline ended which doesn’t bother me at all. But I am sad that I also lost the internet access that was bundled with it. My new in-my-name internet access was supposed to begin today but, of course, it didn’t. Now it is supposed to be active November 1st. Long-time readers may remember that this was how the internet debacle of a few years ago with Verizon started. First the date was put ahead a few days then a week and finally it was over six weeks until we got connected. {That was Verizon. This is Fairpoint.}  So, you may be wondering how come you are reading this?  Well, some of my neighbors have no password on their connection. I feel bad about this but not bad enough not to use their unprotected connection. Actually, I think this one I am using  is the guy upstairs…

This morning I took a return package for Amazon to UPS and got a receipt for it. Then I drove back home. I mention this because this is the first place I have been to in Vermont since Fred died that wasn’t the grocery store or the pharmacy…I did drive around a lot in NC and found it very stressful. Oh, and when I go to the book group meeting, I don’t drive. A friend picks me up.

I hope everyone who was affected by Sandy is safe. In my part of Vermont we are forecasted strong winds tonight and tomorrow. So far it hasn’t been bad but when I go to bed I will hear the wind more clearly on that side of the house.

 Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers)

“As I look back on my life, I realize that every time I thought I was being rejected from something good, I was actually being re-directed to something better.” -Steve Maraboli

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

I don’t blame you for hooking up to the guy’s unprotected connection, but boy is he foolish not to have it protected. Good thing you’re an honest person.

October 29, 2012

I don’t see a problem with connecting to that guy’s internet.. he could have it protected by a password.

October 29, 2012

if it’s unprotected, go ahead and use it. take care,

I agree totally with Linda Kay. It’s very foolish not to protect your computer with a password for your internet connection, but if he chooses not to do that, it’s fair game. Maybe he doesn’t mind — seems like if he did mind, it would be protected. That’s crazy that your internet hookup is getting delayed like that!

October 29, 2012

I had the same problem with AT&T! I have my internet but am still being billed for the old plan…. and the new plan! Hope you stay safe and don’t have too much damage from Sandy!

October 29, 2012

I hope you are safe tonight.

October 29, 2012

Have you heard about other countries and how fast and inexpensive internet connections are there? Makes me wonder what’s going on here in the states. Be safe in the wind.

October 29, 2012
October 29, 2012

I’m just glad you got online, no matter how you did it! ;o) !! hugs, Nicky

I don’t drive on the highways anymore. I find them to be extremely stressful and dangerous. I can’t control what other people do so I won’t drive 65 mph next to them, behind them or otherwise around them. LOL! I’m a backroads kinda gal…I live a 45 mph. heheh I had unprotected net for over a year and I didn’t find it any slower than when I was protected. Call it a bonus to my neighbors when needed 🙂

Since they always tell you to protect your computer connection with a password, if he wants to offer “free wifi” to the neighborhood, that’s his business…he ought to serve coffee and snacks too;) I hope you are safe from the storm..man, it’s a doozy!

Hope you had a safe night and the storm did not hit you too badly… your neighbor is itching for trouble not having a password protected connection…

October 30, 2012

I’d use it, too, if I were you. In fact, If it were protected, I’d go to him and offer to pay him a fee to let me use it. That way, you both get the connection for a decent price and the ISP gets the short end of the stick instead of you. LOL!

October 30, 2012

Just alittle access to the guys internet isnt going to hurt him