A Repost

This is a repost for one of my favorites who is walking down “that” street and probably somewhere between Chapter 2 and 3.

 

An Autobiography in Five Short Chapters

I didnt write this but it is a poem which means a lot to me because it was so accurate about the stages of my life and how I kept making the same mistakes over and over.

1

I walk down the street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I fall in.

I am lost…I am helpless

—-it isn’t my fault.

It takes forever to find a way out.

2

I walk down the same street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I pretend I don’t see it.

I fall in again.

I can’t believe I am in the same place.

—-but, it isn’t my fault.

It still takes a long time to get out.

3.

I walk down the same street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I see it is there.

I still fall in. . . it’s a habit.

My eyes are open.

I know where I am.

It is my fault.

I get out immediately.

4.

I walk down the same street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk;

I walk around it.

5.

I walk down another street.

Portia Nelson

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 22, 2004

that could be me…. definately.

December 22, 2004

That’s pretty wonderful…. Been there… 🙂

yeah I still keep falling in. One would think I would learn. thanks for this post.

December 22, 2004

An Autobiography in Five Short Chapters. It’s my guide too. I felt so free the first time I walked down another street! I wish that for you too, and the happiest and most peaceful of holiday seasons.

December 22, 2004

I have heard that before it’s pretty darn true for alot of people. Happy Holidays!

Oh, sweet lady! I read an entry about him being in the hospital, but I didn’t go back to figure out why. I’m so sorry… The stress and worry must be tremendous. My prayers are with you and Fred. bmh

December 23, 2004

I’ve seen that poem before. It IS much like life! 🙂 You are not petty at all. You’re human! You’re doing the best you can…sometimes it’s just our own expectations of ourselves that we don’t measure up to. But at times we’re being too rough on ourselves. It’s a tough lesson to learn. I will be glad for you when things become normal again! hugs, Weesprite