Backstory

I know I have picked up a few new readers lately so, for those people {and for the others who, like me, have the attention span of a gnat } here is the story behind my trip.

My sister in  England  loved Italy and she and her husband went there many time. Her husband was diagnosed with Parkinson’s and at that point, he decided he would do no more traveling. So, my sister and I were planning to go to Italy together. But before we got to go, she was diagnosed with cancer which eventually killed her. After her death, her husband, {who died a few months ago} gave me an envelope with my name on it in my sister’s handwriting and in it was enough money to pay my fare to Italy.

Because I love learning new things, I decided to take a course in beginning Italian at the local community college. I enjoyed this a lot and went on to take the second semester also. During this time, my instructor casually remarked one day that the best way to learn a new language was a total immersion school {which is, incidentally, how she had done it–a year in Florence.} The more I thought about this, the more I liked the idea and so I researched on line the different language schools in italy. When I had found a couple I liked, I asked my instructor if she would do me the favor of looking at their sites and let me know which one she liked best.

She chose this one in Lucca. She said the price for tuition and a place to stay seemed reasonable{although, now the dollar is so weak the trip is going to cost a lot more than I had originally planned to spend!} She also pointed out that this school is accredited with the Italian language teaching entity–the one that overlooks the teaching of the Italian language in schools there, and that the school taught by the total immersion method. The classes are in the morning and there are various cultural expeditions on some of the afternoons. I noticed that they had two beginner’s classes; one for total beginners and one for those who know a bit! The more I looked at it, the more I liked it. I love medieval architecture and the center of Lucca {where the school is} is the original medieval city. The walls are still there {though of course, the city has expanded beyond them.} In the center of the city people walk or ride bicycles..Lucca is in Tuscany and the weather in the six weeks I will be there is comparable to Vermont. So, I have packed a couple of light sweaters and lots of stuff that can be layered!

So, today at 2 pm, I get on a plane. After two changes {Philadelphia and Rome}, I arrive at Pisa where a pickup to Lucca has already been arranged. I will get to Lucca in the late afternoon of Sunday. I know where I will be staying {a two minute walk from the school} and with whom {an elderly lady who lives with her daughter.} Until we leave for the airport, I am running around doing last-minute things .. I am a little apprehensive because I am going to a country where I speak the language only minimally, but mostly I am excited! I am staying for six weeks and will be back at the end of October. I have been told that I will be able to hook my MacBook to the school’s network but I don’t know how long that will take to set up. What I plan to do is to write about each day’s discoveries with the word processor and put them here when I can. I am taking my little camera and eventually  will have pictures.

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Log in to write a note
September 15, 2007

Fantastic. Cant wait to hear about this mighty adventure. My Greek island frolic was the best holiday of my life.

September 15, 2007

I am glad that you recapped the story for us. I did not know that he passed away as well. I am sorry. Wow, how exciting for you to go away and be able to do this. What about Fred? Will he come to visit?

September 15, 2007

Wow. I read all your entries, and there are one or two things here I didn’t know. I’m just so excited for you. I can hardly wait to read your entries and hope you’ll be able to post them from Italy so we won’t have to wait till the end of October!

I look forward to your updates over the next six weeks, so I can go to Italy vicariously through you. 🙂

September 15, 2007

Safe travels. Send postcards. Your future DIL likes postcards 🙂

Pat
September 15, 2007

You’re going to have a marvelous time! I, too, am looking forward to hearing about all of your adventures!

September 15, 2007

You’ll have a great trip!!

September 15, 2007

I was lying in bed last night thinking about your leaving today. And from somehere deep in my brain, the words “Bona Fortuna” surfaced. I have no idea if they’re the right words for good luck. But there they are!!! Have a WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL time!!!!!!! Ciao! Love you! ~M

Have a safe and happy trip. 🙂 Plus lots of fun.

Shi
September 15, 2007

Have a wonderful, safe trip.

September 15, 2007

I am so excited for you! May you have a safe flight(s), and a fantastic time in Lucca.

September 15, 2007

Have a wonderful trip! I wish you fabulous weather, fabulous classmates, and memorable moments everywhere you turn.

September 15, 2007

Thank u 4 sharing the backstory! I had no idea! I hope u have an amazing time! I can’t wait 2 hear of u’r adventures!

BJ.
September 15, 2007

Have a safe and wonderful trip. I know you have been planning and looking forward to this for so long and I’m glad it is finally here, exciting. I hope you can get your MacBook connected quickly so we can share, but after all your time will be spent enjoying the country side. My son and his fiancé that live in Harrogate, UK love Italy and Tuscany. They have visited several times, last fall for 10 days. Lucca is where he proposed to her this past July. This is part of her email: It was a beautiful sunny day on Friday (7/20) in Lucca, and we climbed to the top of Torre Guinigi (“the tower with the tree on top”) with spectacular views of the town and out to the Tuscan countryside. Brad got down on one knee to propose and of course I said yes immediately!!!

It’s FINALLY HERE!!!!! I just know that you are going to have a fantastic time!!! Enjoy all the new experiences! Can’t wait for an update! Huge hugs, M

September 15, 2007

Thank you for the backstory, which was especially nice for people like me, who are new readers who haven’t yet taken the time to go to the beginning and catch up. I’m so glad you’re going on this trip–the total immersion does seem to be the best way to really learn a language.

September 15, 2007

I did not know that your sister had left money in an envelope for your trip to Italy! That is such a beautiful thing! It brings me tears of the very best kind. :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

September 15, 2007

I’m glad for the backstory too… Have a blessed trip!!

Omigosh! This back story really makes me so glad that you are able to take this trip. What a blessing. I bet your sister is grinning from ear to ear watching you live this dream. Blessings to you, my new friend.

September 15, 2007

I am so excited for you!!

Good luck Patricia! I am so envious because I always wanted to do just the same thing. I think you will have a wonderful time and I can’t believe how quickly it has all come around. Take very good care of yourself… and remember to enjoy the wine and buy one pair of shoes. Italian shoes are made in heaven…. IMHO.

September 15, 2007

Good luck. Have a nice trip. 🙂

September 15, 2007

ohhhhhh I am so happy for you!!!! *huggs* and I know your sister will be along every step of the way with you!

September 15, 2007

It’s a long way from Mississippi. have fun…dan

September 16, 2007

I hope your travels are going well!! We’ve been thinking of you.

From a new reader…good luck, and have fun.

September 16, 2007

Oh I can’t believe I missed saying goodbye and that the Big Day has come! I hope it’s a BRILLIANT experience and will look forward to many exceedingly interesting diary entries coming up!

Have a wonderful time, Patricia! I am hoping that you will write and share lots about your trip.

September 17, 2007

I hope you have a wonderful time. 😉

What a GREAT back story this was. I can’t wait until you let us know how its going.

September 21, 2007

Have a super trip.

November 14, 2008

what a wonderful trip for you. I look forward to reading all about it.