The Penultimate Day

Yesterday was my last physical therapy and it was at the pool. There were two other women who were just starting and as I watched and listened to what they were being told to do, I saw clearly how far I had come. One woman was doing "squats" in the water just after I had finished mine. She did 15 and found the last five difficult; I did 50 {and also found the last 5 difficult!}!

Yesterday was also my visit with the surgeon who did my hip replacement and, to my amazement, he actually sat down and talked to me. The first time I saw him, he looked at the x-ray, asked me to walk across the room and then told me that the nurse would answer all my questions! The second time I saw him was in the hospital when I was doped up for the pain. He was obviously making his rounds, and all he did was to pick my left foot up by the toe and drop it! The third time, {this was after the surgery when I was out of hospital} he wasn’t even there and I saw one of his residents. So, you can see why I was amazed to actually have him sit down and talk to me! He asked about physical therapy and I mentioned wanting to do more when I come back. He said that insurance wouldn’t pay for it. I will check what he said but I think he was right. He then asked me to walk with the cane and without and told me that if I kept walking, I would be able to walk without the cane six months after the surgery. I then said, "Is that I SHOULD be able to walk or I WILL be able to walk?" He laughed and said, "That all depends on you. If you keep doing your mile a day, I would say you WILL be able to walk without a cane!"

Today is my repacking day. I have almost  everything I need in one suitcase but it is extremely heavy, so I am going to repack into the suitcase and the squishy green bag. Both will go all the way through to Pisa and I know from past experience that the squishy green bag can be carried against the handle of the bag with wheels when I DO have to deal with it.

OK, Note to myself about what I haven’t yet put in my bags:

  • prescription drugs {in a plastic see-through zipper bag} will travel in my carry-on
  • Tylenol which will go in the black suitcase
  • robe and slippers
  • bits and pieces which are piled up in the bathroom awaiting packing

And tomorrow at 2 pm, I am off on the first step to Italy!

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Log in to write a note
September 14, 2007

Woot! You’ll show him! You’ll be JOGGING in six months! LOL. So exciting about the trip…can’t believe it’s here so quickly!!!

I dreamed last night that I was packing a suitcase. Don’t know what that was all about. I hope you can keep writing in your diary while you are away on your trip.

September 14, 2007

Wow! You’re an inspiration. I hope you have a fantastic trip!

September 14, 2007

If I was a betting person, I’d bet that you WILL be able to walk without a cane also!! :o) !! I am so excited for you; I wish you pleasant and safe travels and I look forward to hearing about your adventures in Italy!! hugs, Weesprite

September 14, 2007

I hope you have a lovely time if you don’t manage to write again before you go!

September 14, 2007

I’m sooo excited for you. I cannot wait to read your first post and see pictures. Will you do any artwork in Italy? I know how hard it is to pack for a trip like this, but are you bringing anything to sketch in? As for the walking, you WILL be doing it without the cane. When I think back to my visit with J and you still had the walker, it’s amazing that you’ve come so far so fast.That was only two months ago!!

September 14, 2007

No sweat! Look back at all the things that totally just scared the bejesus out of you. This walking thing won’t be in the top ten when you look back in 10 years. have fun…dan

Shi
September 14, 2007

Wow, getting closer. 🙂

September 14, 2007

Bon voyage, my friend. I hope it is everything you are dreaming of.

September 14, 2007

I’m so excited for you – I hope you have the trip of a lifetime.

September 14, 2007

I am so excited about your trip! yippee!

September 14, 2007

Yay! Have fun!

September 14, 2007

Good luck with your packing. Have a wonderful safe journey. Keep us posted.

Pat
September 14, 2007

Take lots of pictures! I am SO excited for you. I will live vicariously through you. Have a safe, fun, and wonderful trip! See ya when you get back! (((Hugs))) Pat

Gosh – packing is bad enough without having to repack too! 🙂

Omigosh… tomorrow is THE day!!!! Have a joyous trip!

Have a wonderful, safe trip to Italy. Once there enjoy and soak up all the knowledge you can.. I know it is preaching to the choir. With your learning abilities you will have such a great time!! I know you will be throwing the cane away in no time…

You are far too determined to do less than well. I hope your trip is easy and your time in Italy everything you wish. Take care, we’ll miss you.

OH MY GOSH! Have a blast!

September 14, 2007

Great Dr. appt! I always love it when they take more than 5 minutes with you and I am so excited for you and your impending trip! *huggs*

September 15, 2007

Just in case you have time to check your notes this morning….I wanted to drop in with one more “HAPPY TRAVELS, PATRISHA!!!!! You will be missed! But I can’t wait to hear all about Italy!” :o) !! ((((huuuugggggsssss))))) Weesprite

September 15, 2007

You WILL be walking without a cane in 6 months, because you are Patrisha the Lion-Hearted, so that is that. End of discussion. Have a wonderful, life-giving time!! Anna

Have a beautiful trip, Patrisha, and come back with story upon story! And be safe…don’t forget to be safe 🙂

September 15, 2007
November 14, 2008

I look forward to seeing how you are doing a year after the surgery. I had surgery 4 weeks ago today for my ruptured discs & I am thrilled witht the results. A friend just had a hip replaced 5 weeks ago & he’ll have the other done just after Thanksgiving. He is happy with the results so far & looking forward to having the other one done.