Bits and Pieces

It is snowing again! It is very pretty and doesn’t seem to be settling on anything except the snow that was already there. I am tired of snow.
Today I have a physical therapy appointment at 2:30 this afternoon. Normally I try not to get afternoon appointments because my energy level is down at that time,  but I changed this one because I thought at the time my eye doctor appointment was this morning. Instead, it is on Monday so I have already changed my physical therapy time to the afternoon for that day. It is not since I have become Officially Old that I have been so vague about dates. I have always been like this. When I was teaching, I had a date book in which I wrote everything down and that I checked every morning. Now I am retired, I usually put my appointments, which are mostly doctor appointments, in my calendar on my computer and I try to remember to check every evening!
I have two sticks to help me walk straight but I only use one of them at a time. One is a pretty purple flowery one that folds up and that I bought to use on the plane when I went to Italy. The other is a big sturdy metal one that my neighbor got for me from the local recycle place. The second one is the one I use most in the snow and ice we have been having recently. Anyway, these days I am trying to walk around the house without a stick but unless I am concentrating in keeping my butt muscles clenched, I tend to lurch a lot. So, when I use the stick–either stick–I park it in a corner of wherever it is that I am going. So, this morning, I used the heavy stick to walk to the kitchen. And what did I see in the corner of the kitchen? Why, the purple stick propped up against the wall! Right now both sticks are propped up in the corner of my work room!In how-am-I-doing-in-class news. I pretty well got it sorted out which verbs took avere and which took essere in the past tense  {passato prossimo} before I went to class on Thursday. The bad news in that there are also verbs which take either depending on whether they are used as transitive or intransitive verbs! {Insert deep sigh here!}

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

None will improve your lot If you yourself do not.

Bertolt Brecht, 1933

Log in to write a note
March 28, 2008
March 28, 2008

I think you need to make a big sign to post on the lawn that says “Dear Mother Nature, Do you know what the date is?” Good grief!

Italian sounds so very confusing to me! At this rate you guys are going to have snow in May! When E took a job in Maine many yrs ago we got there in early June and there was a dusting of snow on the gorund. He was so disgusted ( being the southern boy that he is ) that he asked for the first lay off. LOL Hugs, M

March 28, 2008

I’m sure I don’t have your patience with any language, including English.

March 28, 2008

Our snow is rather granular and is in sublimation mode. I saw a skein of geese, so I know that spring is coming.

Officially Old? Is there such a thing?

March 28, 2008

That had me chuckle about your walking sticks. Did you know that someone stole my walking stick? Why would someone steal something so important.

March 28, 2008

I’ve always heard that English is the most complicated and difficult language to learn. From this, it sure doesn’t sound likt it to me!

I’m so very tired of the snow, too 🙁

March 28, 2008

okay, i now know i am for sure NOT gonna take italian!! it’s hard enuf for me to keep tenses and verbs correct in english! how much snow did you get? we got between 3 and 5 inches of the cold wet heavy white stuff!! i’m so sick of snow and cold!!!!!!!!! if i ever have to use a cane i will want a pretty one! take care,

We got snow today, too, but like yours, it isn’t sticking. It’s so pretty!

Shi
March 28, 2008

Too much snow for you all.

I will be very happy to get rid of my date book when I retire one day.

March 28, 2008

It has been a LONG TIME since I studied any languages! Right now I cannot remember what “transitive” and “intransitive” mean!! :oO !! hugs, Weesprite

What age do you think “Officially Old” began? Whatever the calendar age, you have a young mind and attitude.

March 29, 2008

I do know what you mean about the sticks! I have just one, a rather battered one that I really need to have replaced, as it is on its last legs. And snow — you’re not the only one who’s sick of it! Chilly here, but at least the sun keeps trying to come out, and that’s a sign of hope.

March 29, 2008

It was supposed to snow a bit here yesterday too, but didn’t thankfully. We really do NEED spring, don’t we? Glad to hear the robins singing this morning….hope your weekend is a wonderful one, verbs or no verbs! Hugs,