Book Group & Hair Clips

  • Yesterday was our book group meeting and there were only four of us . One of the missing ones was J., who is the leader in as much we can be said to have a leader. Anyway, she is the one who keeps us on track  so since she wasn’t there, we talked about a lot of other things besides Great Expectations. We also had ice cream floats in honor of M.’s birthday which was yesterday.
  • I have decided that I am going to keep my hair short for the rest of my life so today I put my Oberon hair clips on Freecycle. There must be a lot of women who have long hair and like pewter clips! I have a long list and the first person is going to pick them up today!
  • Open the Roof For God.  An interesting article from Psychology Today.
  • As soon as I have finished this, I am going to work on the Pile of Cardboard Boxes That Never Seems To Diminish. I think it must be attracting other boxes that materialize overnight! So, {sipping tea and taking last bite of toast and Marmite} off I go !

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers)

 

You are not happy because you are well. You are well because you are

happy. You are not depressed because trouble has come to you, but

trouble has come to you because you are depressed. You can change

your thoughts and feelings, and then the outer things will come to

correspond, and indeed there is no other way of working.

— Emmet Fox

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 26, 2012

I’m glad you went to your book study group and everyone had a good time even though you didn’t exactly stay on-task. :o) !! The article reminds me of all that I find silly about some people’s view of deity or use of prayer. Maybe there is some minor deity out there somewhere who cares about one ball team so much that he’d help it win over another team….(but I kinda doubt it! ssssshhhhhh!) ;o) !! hugs, Nicky

August 26, 2012

I never really understood asking God for help in winning any kind of game. I’ll keep the rest of the topic to myself. Boxes, I have boxes…they come in the mail. 🙂

August 26, 2012

i’m in the process of letting my hair grow long again. i could use some hair clips once it gets there. i have a couple already. my sister sent me a really pretty one. i loved great expectations when i read it last year with blake. interesting book. i enjoy charles dickens a lot. hope you have a wonderful weekend. take care,

August 26, 2012

They used to say that about clothes hangers, that they reproduced in dark closets. They seem to do a lot less of that nowadays, people take their clothes to the dry cleaners less often.

I’m with you on the short hair. I wish I oculd do long hair, but not in the cards for me.

August 26, 2012

I watched “The Gloaming” with Glenn Close the other night and have decided to get rid of the hair, too. I wish my hair were straight.

August 26, 2012

Yes, yes! Boxes are like wire hangers!

A great article. Thank you for the private note regarding Fred. We saw pretty much eye to eye as far as politics go. I was always glad to see a note from him on my entries. I miss his insightful entries. It makes me glad to know he got enjoyment from my journal.. I have been quite a stranger to my favourites here…. hopefully with the project pretty much wrapped up my life will return to my normal…thank you for your notes

Sometimes, you need a break from the book. It is more fun to visit at times.:)

At the next meeting will you all confess as to how naughty you were without your leader? 😉

August 29, 2012

RYN: I use far too many !! too. Nothing wrong with it at all 🙂 !

August 29, 2012

I think boxes could multiply. File folders certainly do.